PC updates to version 4.1.2 officially out. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 23rd, 2009, 05:00 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
PC updates to version 4.1.2 officially out.

Lots of tweaks and fixes, very nice rework of First Light making an already easy to use tool even easier (we even updated the FL manual.)

Update tools are NEO HD, 4K & 3D and Prospect HD, 4K and 3D. Yes 3D for Windows is finally out.

Download you update of trial from CineForm Product Downloads
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 04:53 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
David, FL gives me a "cannot start the player process" with the new update, and though it loads the program, won't import or play anything. This was on a 32bit XP ws, with CS3.

We haven't tried it yet on the x64's with CS4 and CS3 on them.

Suggestions?
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 06:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Runs fine on the x64 machines with both CS4 and CS3.

I've got a clue now as to the FL weirdness on the 32bit machine. It had Prospect 4K on it before we downscaled to HD, and the loader is detecting that and the 3D version of FL is being loaded, instead of the regular HD.

Still won't run, so could that be from having HD instead of 4K on that machine?
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 09:52 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 448
I have not checked in for a while. Is the version "realtime"?
__________________
Tim Bickford
Tim Bickford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 11:30 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Stephen,

If FL is saying "cannot start the player process", for some reason it is starting in the wrong path. Right click on First Light shortcut icon (wherever you launch it) and open properties tell me what "Start in:" says. It should point to "C:\Program Files\CineForm\Tools" on a 32-bit system.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 11:31 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Tim,

No CS4 play module yet, this was the last big build before the CS4 playback gets integrated.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 11:37 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
I'm floored

Prospect 3D is astonishing; I had no idea what was coming our way. We just this week returned from 6 weeks of gathering 20 hours of 3D material in far-away places. Prospect 3D is going to make our lives unimaginably easier and better. The work-flow is brilliant and, thus far, is feeling very robust. (CS3 - 32bit)

Countless thanks to the Davids and the whole of the CineForm team for the excellent tool.

David Wilson

Last edited by David H. Wilson; October 24th, 2009 at 12:18 PM.
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 12:15 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
I have a couple of issues with the FL histogram with ProspectHD. First, the histogram doesn't display correctly unless I put in some offset in framing (just 0.01 will do it). Otherwise the displayed histogram shows just a small amount of the information toward the dark end.

The second issue is that the histogram won't display in CS4, and it kills CS4 if I try to use it. I don't know whether or not the histogram is supposed to play in the editor - it would be nice. The histogram plays in my other viewers, albiet slowly.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 12:19 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by David H. Wilson View Post
Prospect 3D is astonishing; I had no idea what was coming our way. We just this week returned from 6 weeks of gathering 20 hours of 3D material in far-away places. Prospect 3D is going to make our lives unimaginably easier and better. The work-flow is brilliant and, thus far, is feeling very robust.

Countless thanks to the Davids and the whole of the CineForm team for the excellent tool.

David Wilson
Wow! I giddy with that comment. There is so much more we have planned for 3D, we are just pleased to offer something that enhances the workflow into the PC market (just as we did for the Mac.) PC is more my domain, so this one I've be personally working on for some time.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 12:30 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles W. Hull View Post
I have a couple of issues with the FL histogram with ProspectHD. First, the histogram doesn't display correctly unless I put in some offset in framing (just 0.01 will do it). Otherwise the displayed histogram shows just a small amount of the information toward the dark end.

The second issue is that the histogram won't display in CS4, and it kills CS4 if I try to use it. I don't know whether or not the histogram is supposed to play in the editor - it would be nice. The histogram plays in my other viewers, albiet slowly.
Histograms are tricky beasts, they often don't display much if the data is skewed with a lot of saturated blacks or whites.

Sorry about the CS4, no one reported that in the beta :(. However, I don't see it here, not issue, histogram is working, so please submit a trouble ticket with support.
Attached Thumbnails
PC updates to version 4.1.2 officially out.-histogram.jpg  
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 03:21 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Wow! I giddy with that comment. There is so much more we have planned for 3D, we are just pleased to offer something that enhances the workflow into the PC market (just as we did for the Mac.) PC is more my domain, so this one I've be personally working on for some time.
That's OK, I'm giddy about the possibilities offered by P3D. Thanks again for all the work. I'm looking forward to the further releases.
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 07:12 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Stephen,

If FL is saying "cannot start the player process", for some reason it is starting in the wrong path. Right click on First Light shortcut icon (wherever you launch it) and open properties tell me what "Start in:" says. It should point to "C:\Program Files\CineForm\Tools" on a 32-bit system.
"C:\Program Files\CineForm\Tools\scripts"

That's from the icon in the CF install folder. When I took off the "scripts" at the end, all is well....tnx
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2009, 08:36 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Need to double check installer

David, you might need to double check that installer on the latest build. One other x64 CS3 ws of our also had the wrong address as you mentioned. I corrected it and it now is okay.
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 01:58 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Found and fixed an issue with the Prospect HD installer for the First Light short cut (P4K and P3D, and Neo seems fine.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 08:28 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
Trouble with export from PP from P3D muxed file

David,

I'm having a bit of trouble with exporting from a muxed 3D file in PP CS3.

I've muxed a right eye and left eye file to a file named A109_C029SeqLR_RAW.avi. That file plays fine in all 3D display types in WMP and shows up in all 3D display types in PP as well. I have full active data control of that file in First Light (color correction, Orientation etc.)

When I export from PP in any 3D display type except Side-by-Side (Anaglyph, Over-Under, Onion Skin etc.) the file will export fine in the appropriate 3D display type. When I attempt to export Side-by-Side, I get a side by side image without the color information (B&W) and without the stereo information (left eye only repeated two times). On occasion the exported file will only show one or two vertical green bars.

Other than this, I'm have a great time working with P3D. Many thanks,

David
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network