Problems with CS4 + Win 7 + NeoHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 27th, 2009, 07:28 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Problems with CS4 + Win 7 + NeoHD

First thing, I open HDLink, it takes about 35 seconds for the program to appear. Then, my attempt to convert an EX1 clip to an avi is met with an error as per the attached screenshot. And the converted file does not exist!

I am also failing to see how to maintain the aspect ratio of simple 16x9 DV material. It ends up vertically stretched...

Secondly, encoding times in Adobe Media Encoder are huuuuge. A two minute DV clip that takes 5 seconds to export as a DV AVI and 30 seconds to export as an MPEG-2 DVD is taking 3 minutes plus to export as a Cineform AVI. The resulting file is fine.

Are these things normal?
Attached Thumbnails
Problems with CS4 + Win 7 + NeoHD-hdlinkproblems.jpg  
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions

Last edited by John Hewat; November 27th, 2009 at 08:40 AM.
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
AN EX1 is an MPEG based format not AVCHD, so the error indicates something else is wrong. You might have to upload a short sample to support after the weekend. As for DV, we don't do much with SD sources, so that is like a bug in HDLink. The export slowest of CS4 is terrible, it is not the codec, something CS4 is doing and Adobe doesn't seem to have a solution (other than maybe CS5.) We have spent months of wasted engineering trying to make it faster, Premiere simple won't send us the frame fast enough (notice the CPU is not being used.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 06:05 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
I'll keep investigating.

First Light also takes a good 30 seconds or more to load. It's strange.

Also, should there be two Cineform HD VFW Codecs installed in my list of programs?
Attached Thumbnails
Problems with CS4 + Win 7 + NeoHD-programs.jpg  
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 06:17 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Not likely an issue, old Vfw install may have left that. 30 second startup suggests a licensing issue, does it say "HD license" in the shell window when First Light starts?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 03:34 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
RE: LOAD TIME:

It does say HD License. But it only appears after I exit First Light, and that command prompt style window doesn't close - it has to be closed manually, after I've closed First Light.

It could be a licensing thing. I was unable to deactivate on my computer (tried but I got a failure message) before going to Win7, but went ahead and upgraded anyway, and then re-installed. So perhaps that's a problem?

RE: DUAL CODECS:

I've only installed the software on this drive once - so I'm not sure why there would be two of them. Should I uninstall one?

Or maybe I need to deactivate and uninstall the whole thing in order to cure the first problem???
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 12:05 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sound like it needs to be cleared off and reinstalled. Contact support for how to do a full remove.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2009, 10:29 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Will do so. Thanks David!
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network