Using Cineform to go 24p (23.967p). at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2009, 09:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
Using Cineform to go 24p (23.967p).

I was wondering what whould be the best way to output video framerate at 23.976p?
That is,
#1. Is it better to shoot at 29.97 interlace, and then converts to 23.976p using cinefrom.
#2. Is it better to shoot at 25fps interlace (50i), and then converts to 23.976p using cineform.
Desmond Sukotjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 10:20 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
#2 wins no matter who's tools you use.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 11:00 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
Even with that pulldown technique thing?
Desmond Sukotjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2009, 12:27 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That only applies if you have pulldown, a 24p recording stored in 60i -- then that is best.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2009, 04:59 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
I thought if you recording at 24p on the camera, then during capture we use 24p (23.976p) preset then we end-up with a 24p footage already. Is this false?

Is this something that we can check if our footage has pulldown or not? Is there a way to do so?

In the case of recording video on 5Dmk2, which is 30p (not 29.97p), and we use HDLink to go to 23.976p, is the audio will be slowed down acoordingly? The audio pitch will be way off.
Desmond Sukotjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2009, 09:42 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Your original question only asked about 60i and 50i sources. I assumed if your camera shot 24p you would have mentioned it. 24p sources stored in 60i have pulldown. Then absolutely you should use the pulldown removal to extract the true 24p (23.976) frames from within the 60i wrapper.

If you are shooting 30/29.97p you can add a 20% slowdown with audio pitch correction.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network