Corrupted frames in Cineform transocded clip. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2009, 02:04 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Corrupted frames in Cineform transocded clip.

I loaded up a Cineform clip today and the first 2 frames of the clip were corrupted. I freaked out, thinking perhaps my HMC150 had recorded these corruptions so I went back to the original MTS file and the frames were clean. Has anyone ever seen these types of corruption by Cineform?

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/7...ormproblem.jpg

A problem I observed while transcoding about 640 AVCHD clips to Cineform -Twice in the process, Cineform would hang while transcoding a clip. I would walk away for a period of time and when I got back, I noticed that Cineform had stopped running and my RAID array had gone to sleep. HDLink's progress bar was stuck. I would kill the app and whatever progress had be done on that last clip was already saved to file and I could actually play the clip. Strange since I would have assumed the last clip would be unplayable. I'm not sure if the problem with this clip is related to the behavior I observed..
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2009, 02:10 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
I should also add that this clip was the 2nd of a series of disjointed long clip produced by the HMC150.. The maximum file size is 4GB and the HMC automatically creates a new file after it reached 4GB...

That being said, I have other clips disjointed like the one above and Cineform converted those just fine.
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 04:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Just found another "spanned" clip that has corruption on the 1st frame after transcoded to cineform...
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 05:05 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I don't know why that is. Likely there is something incompatible with the Main Concept decoder or upstream demux we use. I gather these are large (source) files, maybe you could burn a sample to DVD-ROM (send to support,) so we could test why this is happening.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Yeah there must be some inherent incompatibility between Cineform and how the spanned clips are individually packaged. However, I've modified my workflow to joining the spanned clip first, then transcode...
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2009, 07:39 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 279
Corrupted frames in Cineform transocded clip

I have the same problem since the thanksgiving beta and now I installed the latest build
and I still have the corrupted frames on serveral clips.I captured the same footage in adobe native and had no problems .All this is done in CS3

thanks Rudy
Rudy Wilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2009, 07:49 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is unlikely to have anything to do with the betas, as the HDV capture engine hasn't changed in a very long time. Contact support as they will help you solve the issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network