v4.13 Build 228 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2009, 04:14 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
v4.13 Build 228

I just up graded to the current version from : v4.08 Build 217. I think? I was excited about the additions to firstlight! Audio export was perfect. Now with 4.04 audio is now way out of sync. Audio play fine in the time line but after render it is way out of sync..
Using CS3 vista 64
Any Ideas

Last edited by Bruce Gruber; December 17th, 2009 at 05:03 AM. Reason: added info
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 09:06 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Don't know if it'll solve your particular problem but there's a beta available that is a newer build:
Its the weekend, time for another beta release.

and then a bug fix for that beta (haven't yet had a chance to verify that the bug fix did the trick):
FirstLight not working properly

Uninstall b228 first, then install b230 and do the copy-and-paste for the bug fix. If that doesn't help, definitely file a trouble ticket with Cineform at their web site. Let us know how things go.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 06:14 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Hi Dave I was hoping you would have a comment? Has anyone else had this issue?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 10:01 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We've had a couple of reports on DVInfo only, yet no one has uploaded anything we can use to confirm. Need a sample from the field so we can determine if there is a bug. I don't believe we have change anything regarding audio handling.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 10:42 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
David, I have a support ticket filed with an audio sync issue and a file uploaded to yousendit that I sent on Friday
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 10:49 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry, that hasn't got to me yet, I will ask Jake. Thanks.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 01:16 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
Thanks David,

I just updated the ticket with some interesting new info....very wierd.
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 01:20 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I'm not in support, so I don't see the ticket info directly.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 01:53 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
ok i'll sum it up

this is all related to clips rendered from AE
Rendered using the render queue...and using the CIneformAVI output...not VFW

the clips i sent to jake, played out of sync in PPRO without fail ON THE DAY THEY WERE CREATED (i could reproduce it every thime i rendered a clip from AE)

they now, a few days later, playback fine on my system within PPRO with no issues

when i render the SAME clips TODAY with the same source files and settings today they ARE ALL OUT OF SYNC AGAIN

This is irregardless of the source....I just tested with an DVCProHD clip, a clip from RED, and a cineform express clip from RED.

the wierd thing is that the same clips i produced before that were 100% out of sync on friday....now play back 100% in sync.....

i have no way of knowing what is going on but it really seems like the clips play out of sync on there creation date...or some set period of time after there creation...maybe tied to active metadata or something

sorry if i'm hijacking this thread

edit:disregard...the old clips are OUT OF SYNC AGAIN....they were fine for an hour or so...until I restarted.....i'm gonna stop speculating and leading you guys on a wild goose chase...sorry
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 06:00 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Ok that is all pretty weird. AE is doing something to the audio to mess-up to offset when read by the Premiere AVI importer. Could not see anything wrong.

Workaround: Load the AE AVI exports into VirtualDub, set both video and audio to "Direct stream copy" mode then save a new AVI (this is fast and lossless.) The VirtualDub AVI engine is more modern than AE's (by about 10 years) and the audio will then come in to Premiere fine.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 06:02 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
If sync or speed are affected by a restart, I would start with your audio drivers.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 06:03 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is an importer issue, as the waveform is impacted. Very weird.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 07:15 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Baggen View Post
If sync or speed are affected by a restart, I would start with your audio drivers.
this will happen on every computer....
my studio has 4 different computers all with different configs and theres no escaping it
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2009, 07:16 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
David...you guys have it on your radar which makes me happy...

the virtualdub fix is a good workaround for now being that it is lossless
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 04:47 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Dave do you have a work around for PPCs3? I have a project created and captured with Ver 228 exports perfect. When I install 4.13 from CF site when I export to CF master audio is out of sync? I did the update because I wanted to use the new features of Firstlight. When I uninstall and go back to old version it exports fine?
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network