Migrating CF mov's from PC to Mac and keeping Firstlight CC treatment at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 13th, 2010, 01:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
Migrating CF mov's from PC to Mac and keeping Firstlight CC treatment

Hi, I am wondering if there is a way to migrate cineform mov's from a PC to mac and still keep the color correction done in Firstlight (PC).

Problem is I need to export the cineform mov's to ProRes so that they can be edited somewhere else. AFAIK there is no way to render to ProRes on a PC, so I wonder if I can send them the CF mov's, but keep the CC done on my PC.

I know one can move the firstlight database from one computer to another, given of course that both have FL... but what if the other computer only has the cineform decoder installed ?

Also, I tried moving the database from a PC to a Mac that had a tril of NEO3d, but could not import the database into FL on the Mac.

I have resorted to a render, so that the CC is "baked in". Just wondered if there is a real-time (aka no render) workflow available.

TIA,

Pedro Rey
www.FFRACTALL.COM - Noticias/News
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2010, 06:34 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
So nobody knows ?

So no response... not even the Davids know how to do this ?

Please help me out here....

Pedro
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2010, 06:50 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
PC stores its First Light databases in a path indicated by this registry location

\\HKCU\\Software\\CineForm\ColorProcessing\\LUTPath

Often (Vista, Win7) "C:\Users\Public\CineForm\LUTs" or
for XP "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\CineForm\LUTs"

Then in the folder of your database name, like "db". Copy "db" into

/Library/Application Support/CineForm/LUTs

on the Mac. That is all that is needed. If you require 3D LUTs you can move the directory above. Pretty easy, no need to bake in color.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2010, 07:08 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Just posted this info on the techblog
Cineform Tech Blog Blog Archive Moving First Light color databases between PC and Mac
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2010, 08:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
Thanks!

Excelent, thanks, will try it tomorrow and post results!

Pedro
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2010, 08:15 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
Works like a charm!

Works like a charm!
'nough said...

Thanks,

Pedro
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 03:02 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
Suddenly no luck exporting LUT dbase

Hi, all of a sudden, all the changes I do on FL within a PC will not replicate on a Mac, even though I migrate the dbase... and the LUT's...?
Any clues as to why ?

Pedro
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 04:53 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Talk to support on this one, as "All of sudden" could mean anything. Tell support what you have changed, they will get to bottom of it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 05:36 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 43
Submit a ticket

Ok, gotcha, already submitted ticket #611-8307396.
1-Using FLight to do primary CC on a CFraw avi file in a PC.
2-Export a look and also dbase from FL on the PC.
3-Import dbase into /Library/Application Support/CineForm/LUTs on a Mac.
4-Double click on the "new" *.look file on OS will open a FL program, but NO license for OS.
6-The cfraw avi file still had the "old" look, not reflecting the changes from FirstLight on the PC.

Pedro
Pedro Rey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network