Firstlight Question. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2010, 05:02 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 91
Firstlight Question.

I purchased ProspectHD a couple months back and finally got around to see what Firstlight was all about. Before even launching it, I went to read the explanation on the Cineform website and, of course, much of it went over my head.

When someone has a chance and of course, the patience, would you mind briefly explaining what Firstlight is used for and why it is an effective tool, in terms a novice such as myself could understand? Thanks! Appreciate it.
-Marc
Marc de Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 10:04 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Have you use LightRoom or Aperture for photography work? First Light is the same concept for video, yet it doesn't need any export/render -- meaning there is nothing else like it on the market. Load any CineForm AVI or MOV, adjust any video characteristic, White Balance, Saturation, Exposure, Lift, Gamma, Gain all the way to 3D LUTs. Copy and paste look styles between clips. What could take hours can be done in minutes giving you more time to be creative with your color corrections.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fullerton, California
Posts: 91
Oh okay, got it. So in other words, i can color correct in Firstlight, then if I like a certain look, I can apply this in Premiere, through cut and paste?

OR are you saying, if I like a certain look in Firstlight, then I confirm the choice in Firstlight and it automatically updates in my Premiere timeline?

Thanks again for the insight.
Marc de Jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2010, 11:36 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The second.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 06:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 113
^^

Which I certainly appreciate. I have more of a photography background and I must say that FirstLight is very similar in look and feel of any RAW photo editor out there. Therefore, I feel more comfortable using FirstLight than I do using color correction in Premiere.
Brant Gajda is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network