Red problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 16th, 2010, 03:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
Red problem

After exporting to Cineform avi with the latest Prospect HD the red colours are stuttering; pulsing, losing their form, on blu ray disc.
[Using CS3 and Encore]

I didn't notice this in the Cineform avi, so I checked the source from the camera on my 46 inch full HD LCD, nothing strange to see.

Made a new encoding with TMPGenc, but this showed the same stuttering on blu ray disc.

Checked my Z1 camera: PAL, like it should be.

So I guess it should be in the Cineform exported avi, because the captured Cineform video source looked the same as on tv.

Tried an old Prospect but this didn''t help.
Strangely enough my pc doesn't want to capture my footage anymore.

Anyone else having troubles like this with the latest Prospect build?
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 05:35 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 58
I only see red screens on empty portions on my timeline using PP CS3 under Win7 64bit. Oddly, when I place a empty black video to fill these portions, the video stops playing when it hits these during playback. Its not major showstopper but a big annoyance. I'll try to export to see what the outcome looks like.
James Park is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 03:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
My problem seems to be very strongly related to panning.
When the camera doesn't move, there's no problem.

Before the the latest release and updating of Prospect I didn't have this 'panning' problem.
When going back to older versions of Prospect my system becomes unstable e.g. HD link does't work anymore in a proper way.
HD Link seems to capture, but it isn't on the harddisk.

I am trying to nail it down, but if this doesn't help I am going to format my drive and reinstall with an older version of Prospect to see if it helps.
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 03:11 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 58
I think you should submit a trouble ticket with them so you can provide specifics with your setup. Sounds like a more specific issue related to your setup than a general bug.
James Park is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 04:28 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
After a few days work:
It seems the Cineform Prospect codec is the problem.
Finally I used HDV Split and did a small project in CS3 and Encore, with no Cinefrom codec.
Red Colours were good, no problems whatsoever...

I am now going to use this method to create my 2 small films, without the Cineform Prospect codec.

The problem still remains however: How is it possible that when rendering to a Cinefrom Avi the red colours become pulsing and shaking?

Last edited by Gildo Houtekamer; February 20th, 2010 at 04:29 AM. Reason: typo
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 11:06 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Have you sent a sample to support, as we need to see it before we can determine what it is. Seem to isolated to your PC at the moment, as I've read no other reports.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 02:00 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
Thanks for replying David.
Before I trouble support I try to be sure if it isn't a mistake on my side.

Something odd; after cutting the first film as m2t I exported as a Cineform Avi, and burned it to Blu ray.
The results were fine, as usual, no colourshifting at all

I am now cutting my second film and retrying the same method.

If this works too, I am going to format my harddrive.
When the problem is still there after reinstalling I will contact support.
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 02:41 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Flickering red sound like a 601 709 colorspace problem, but I would need to see a CineForm clip that does it. In HDLink if you set the smart render option, your AVIs will be I-frame only, which may help, but I'm only guessing without a clip.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 07:08 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
Second film came out perfect too, so that's a relief.

I will contact support and send a clip before formatting.

TIA

UPDATE:
Wrong Cineform Avi: video 48 bits.
Colourshifting took place with 48 bits of video, however after looking into older projects all my films are 48 bits [...]

Good Cineform Avi now: only 32 bits [...]

Just send 2 clips to support, one good and one wrong; and submitted a trouble ticket.

Last edited by Gildo Houtekamer; February 21st, 2010 at 10:18 AM. Reason: more info...
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 11:37 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
Just a question; I am now formatting my drive: Is it safe to install divx and vlc player?

I am asking this because of any direct show issues in relation to Cineform.
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 12:05 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
VLC is completely safe as it doesn't use DirectShow at all (certainly not 3rd party DShow decoders.) The Dixv convertor doesn't work with CineForm files (we hope they fix that) but it has no know conflicts either. The only tools to watch out for at the free/open source multiple codec filter packages like ffdshow.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2010, 12:06 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wemeldinge, Netherlands
Posts: 117
Thanks David for the fast response.
Gildo Houtekamer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network