Cineform and the New 5D2 Firmware at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2010, 12:46 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
Cineform and the New 5D2 Firmware

Obviously Cineform hasn't had much (if any) time to play with the files from the updated 5D2 Firmware, so I'm sure it will be a while before they adjust Cineform to handle the new framerates (including 29.97).

That said, I'm assuming they will stop conforming the 30.00 footage to 29.97 (and adjusting the audio) once the new firmware is available.

Beyond that though, I have a question/comment. I kind of hope they find a way to still make the adjustment if they notice 30.00 footage, but not do it if they see 29.97. I'm hoping there's enough metadata or some other mechanism to see the difference and transcode/conform accordingly.

I'm currently working on a long-term project, and I will of course be switching my firmware out once available, but I'll need to be able to mix and match the two versions (30.00 and 29.97) going forward.

Hopefully that will work out?
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 06:04 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We expect no issues will the new firmware.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 11:26 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
So will it be able to handle both the older 30.00p files and the newer 29.97 files if I give it both in the same batch?
__________________
BayTaper.com | One man's multimedia journey through the San Francisco live jazz and creative music scene.
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 11:31 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Update your firmware and find out, send us samples if there are any issues (we don't expect any.) Remember 7D and 5D can be convert in the same batch without issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 08:42 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
If you do fix this, please leave in the current 30p to 29.97 as an option as I expect there may not be a firmware update for my Canon point and shoot SX-1 IS (which also benefits from the current 30p to 29.97 correction).
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 08:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 126
So has anyone been using the new 5D files with the "old" CineForm? I'll give it a try myself, of course, but don't have anything to convert yet and someone else must have done it by now. I love CineForm and wouldn't want to have to work with the original 5D files if CineForm isn't ready yet. I'm still running CineForm 1.4.0, so I'm sure I should upgrade anyway, but I hadn't read about an update for the new 5D f/w.
__________________
Brian Kennedy
Brian Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 11:02 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I have converted 24p and 30p material already without any problem. Resulting files are what is advertized.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 11:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Kennedy View Post
So has anyone been using the new 5D files with the "old" CineForm? I'll give it a try myself, of course, but don't have anything to convert yet and someone else must have done it by now. I love CineForm and wouldn't want to have to work with the original 5D files if CineForm isn't ready yet. I'm still running CineForm 1.4.0, so I'm sure I should upgrade anyway, but I hadn't read about an update for the new 5D f/w.
Sure, worked fine. I converted both 29.97 and 23.976 shot with the 2.0.3 5DII firmware. This is with ProspectHD version 4.3 which also correctly converts the previous 30 fps files to 29.97. Neoscene 1.6.0 would work the same.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network