Export Issues on AE CS4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2010, 09:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 176
Export Issues on AE CS4

I need to replace some shots from my premiere pro timeline, for the vfx shots. The problem is that those final shots look like crap compared with the originals. I rendered in AE in Filmscan 2 444 16bit with Automatic settings.

I went back to AE and discovered it was not the render AE is interpreting the image very different than Premiere the grain is terrible. And the problem is I cant export from Premiere since version CS4 the only way of exporting is from AE Ive been jumping from system to system but its the same the debayering is different in AE than in Premiere, and in a bad way.

Im including a couple of images showing the difference. Between the original RAW file in premiere, and the Final Render from AE.

The material I shot is intended for Theatrical release so I need to preserve the lowest amount of noise posible. In Premiere the image quality is very acceptable. But the renders Im getting from AE are terrible. Im starting to worry very much, since my deadline is tuesday for delivering all the reels for DI and my footage looks like a bad Youtube video.

Help please!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Export Issues on AE CS4-premiere-pro.jpg   Export Issues on AE CS4-final-render-444.jpg  

Sergio Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 11:44 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
There are things I'm not understanding about you workflow, like why you can't export form Premiere -- you should get the same results from CS4 Premiere and AE, as there both use the same importer component. You have set which demosaic filter you have selected? This can be done in First Light (for a particular clip) or globally using the SetActiveMetadata tool (which is about to be obsoleted -- see the next beta.) Likely you just using default demosaic setting, which is automatically set quality on pixel format, 8-bit decodes use a lower quality and 16-bit decodes higher, but this is just a stop-gap until you choose something. There are six demosaic filters to choice from and they do have a significant control over grain and noise.

Contact support on Monday, as all this can be solved, if the above info doesn't help you out.
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2010, 11:48 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mexico
Posts: 176
The images ive posted have Cineform Advanced Detail 3 for Premiere, and for the Render is CF Adv. detail 1, thats why Im so worried.

I dont understand why this is happening, Ive been rendering CF files for while, and the results where identical in AE and Premiere.

We cant export from Premiere, its a mistery for us, the Adobe Media Encoder is just a piece of sh***. It crashes when conforming the sequences. I just can export audio from premiere. All the video has to be exported from AE.

I will be trying different things today, and se what happens.
Sergio Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
you may have already tried this, but just make sure your ae comp is 32bit and using the proper color managment

also with media encoder, try deleting your prefrences folder for media encoder because it should work
deleting the prefs have solved several of my issues in the past with media encoder exports
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:14 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network