5D II/Neoscene/Premiere Pro 2 and cs4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
5D II/Neoscene/Premiere Pro 2 and cs4

I downloaded the trial version of Neoscene to see if it would be a good soluiton to finally start editing some of my 5D footage. I was intrigued by the codec but more so the fact that my my black and white levels wouldn't be crushed.

After converting some footage and importing it into an uncompressed timeline, it actually appears like the footage is crushed even more than the original MOV when compared side by side. When I tried the files out on my laptop which just has neoplayer installed, the footage looks good/corrected even in premiere pro 2. THis seems to be confirmed by the yc waveform.

On a side note I tried installing the DNxHD codec and converting some footage to both avi and mov wrappers and importing into premiere. Premiere doesn't recognize the video on the AVIs and the MOVs are significantly darker (the white levels) than the original footage.

I've had so many different codecs and programs installed over the years on my desktop that i'm afraid something in the past is conflicting with the cinform codec. I instaled the latest version of quicktime player but i've had quicktime alternative also.

I really don't want to reformat my comptuer to eventually learn that something else was causing the issue. right now my trial version of neoscene has run out and I'd like to make sure it will work before I actually purchase it. If it really works then $129 is nothing for a good solution to edit 5D footage.
Elliot Gabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 08:56 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NeoScene is working fine -- either you got you footage backward or you have something conflicting (I have avoided quicktime alternative for reason long forgotten.) NeoPlayer (which worked on your laptop) and NeoScene/HD/4K/3D all use the same decoder, so there is no reason to have one decoding differently to another.

Download NeoHD, for a 15-day trial, if you get everything working purchase NeoScene, it you can't resist NeoHD after using FirstLight (no better way to preserve your shadow detail and highlights.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 06:41 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks David,

What does NeoHD offer that does a better job at preserving shadow and highlight detail than Neoscene?
Elliot Gabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2010, 10:16 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The tool is called FirstLight. Here is a brief online demo

The reason FirstLight will do better that using the codec alone (and your NLEs color correction tools) is that FirstLight is always using high bit-depth processing develop the image, even if the NLE is requesting 8-bit data (as it so often will.) 8-bit decodes with color corrections on top are no match for corrections through FirstLight. If you can convince your NLE to do 32-bit float processing, you can achieve similar results as FirstLight but at a fraction of the speed, typically requiring rendering. Whereas color changes in FirstLight are generally real-time wherever you use your CineForm clips (not just in your NLE.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks David, this makes sense.

One final question. Now that we are anticipating the 24P firmware update in the foreseeable future, are there going to be any compatibility issues with neoscene 1.5 and these new MOV files? If the file is already 23.976 or 29.97 will neoscene just skip the framerate conversion and do the luma/black level conversion?
Elliot Gabor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 04:51 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, we expect it to work as is.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network