I frames only? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2010, 02:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
I frames only?

In HDLink in preferences under CineForm Encoder Options there is a check box for I frames only. I would like to know what that is for. I didn't see it in the manual. Thanks!
Marc Brackhahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 02:57 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
It was called "smart rendering", but that is more obfuscated than I-frame mode. All it means is frame as store separately within the AVI/MOV. It is useful for 3D projects, and lossless smart renders in Vegas. Leave it on if you don't understand the need, turn it off you want to save 15% disk space for the same quality.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 02:41 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 876
So leaving it off has the same quality as having it on? I use vegas, whats the benefit?
__________________
mintyslippers.com
Danny O'Neill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 09:10 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
Same quality yes. In Vegas you go lose smart rendering.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 02:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
I use Vegas and I love the smart-rendering, but now I'm wondering:

If I use First Light for my color correction, I'm losing the ability to smart-render anything that I've adjusted the color on. Is that correct? I might as well uncheck it and save the space.

Here's another question. When I do documentary stuff, I light the interviews, set white balance, make sure everything is perfect before I shoot it. I rarely need any sort of correction.

However when I shoot B-Roll, I use a lot of auto settings and a little color correction helps quite a bit.

Any problem mixing I-frame and non I-frame footage? Does Vegas just smart-render the I-frame parts and fully render all the non I-frame parts?
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 03:25 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
Yes, No, and Yes to your questions. All will work as planned.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 07:30 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
There's no "I-frame" setting in the vfw codec settings that Vegas uses. Am I correct in assuming that anything rendered in a vfw application like Vegas or VirtualDub is automatically using I frames?
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:51 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
Yes, this has always been the case. Creating long-GOP (even two frame GOP like CineForm can be) never worked with VfW tools. VfW and QuickTime are treat as I-frame always, whereas DirectShow didn't care.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network