Matrox RT.X2 and Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2010, 12:57 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Preston England
Posts: 147
Matrox RT.X2 and Cineform

Can anyone tell me if Cineform can convert 550d footage into files than can be used in Matrox RT.X2, working with Premiere CS3?

The Matrox files should be 1440 x 1080i.

Peter
Peter D. Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 01:50 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Peter, the first half of your question (converting 550 footage to CineForm) is a YES, but you probably already knew that.

The second half you'll have to test. We don't have that configuration at CineForm. Matrox added CineForm support in the MXO2 lineup, but I don't believe they went backwards to RT.X2.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong....
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 04:55 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
just wondering - Is cineform any closer to offering support to MX02 using cineform presets?
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:24 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No, Matrox doesn't have an API to allow third parties to use their hardware -- you need to talk to Matrox to request this. We do have a range of support for Blackmagic and AJA, as both have API (interface) for company like CineForm to use.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 02:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Thanks David for the info, I have been badgering Matrox on this both in thier forums and in talking to thier support. It's a shame as first light would go perfectly with the MX02.

Am I correct in assuming the AJA IO express works with Cineform templates in PP and also first light, it looks like you chaps added support in December.
Thanks again -
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 03:03 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Here is a thread I started on the matrox boards about the MX02 and thier response to some of the questions I put out there: Matrox MXO User Forum :: View topic - MX02 mini support for Cineform First Light?
Rich Perry is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network