AVCHD NeoHD conversion looks horrible at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
AVCHD NeoHD conversion looks horrible

When converting AVCHD files from my Sony TG3e with NeoHD/Scene, the avi files look horrible. The playback is very jerky.

Also they wont open in Pinnacle Studio 14 :(
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:54 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Not much to go on there. It is unlikely that look any different frame to frame, as that is something this compression excels at. Sometimes there are presentation issues with the graphic card setup -- we recommend loading the AVI into a tools like VirtualDub (free) which will not produce artifacts due to the gfx card (scale, colorspace, deinterlacing weirdness etc.) If you have a older PC, playback can be improved greatly by selecting from the Start Menu -> Programs -> CineForm -> Tools -> "Desktop Playback - Fast". As for Pinnacle Studio 14, you would think after 14 versions they would support a standard codec API. :) Neo's output is compatible with Video for Windows, DirectShow and Quicktime -- i.e. 99%+ of all video tools support one of these. So for Studio 14 you should report a bug to them.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
I tried playing back another cineform file converted from 5D mkII video and that looks fine.
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:27 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sound like gfx card then -- interlaced vs progressive playback.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 03:46 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
I tried changing the deinterlace settings on my Radeon HD 5770, but no change.
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 03:50 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
Ok, I uploaded both the original AVCHD 1440x1080i mts file and the NeoHD converted file and I would really appriciate if anyone would be willing to download them and give me some feedback.

I was very happy with using NeoHD with my 5D mkII files and was hoping to use it for my AVCHD files also.

http://www.zangenberg.net/video/00022.MTS

http://www.zangenberg.net/video/00022-001.avi
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 06:26 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Nothing wrong with those files -- other than there are interlaced. Interlaced playback on a progressive monitor requires some form of deinterlacing (bob, weave, blend etc.) Go to Start -> Program -> CineForm -> Tools and select "Desktop Playback - Fast", that will give you a blend on you interlaced source.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 01:36 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
Ok, setting the fast quality did help some. I dont care if the playback looks "off" as long as I can use it for editing I am happy :)
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 01:48 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
Well I just discovered that the cineform AVI's has no audio?!? I tried converting clips recorded with both 5.1 and 2.0 audio but sound is lost... :(
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 07:20 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
I may have found the solution to the audio problem in this thread No sound converting AVCHD files

I will try installing AC3filter when I get home.
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2010, 11:15 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 42
I am closing this thread and starting another regarding audio.
Per Kristensen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network