Cineform Capture with Premiere Pro CS3 Dropping Frames at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2010, 11:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S. Ozone Park
Posts: 25
Cineform Capture with Premiere Pro CS3 Dropping Frames

Hi,

I've been trying out Cineform recently, and it seems like after around 45 min of capturing, it usually drops frames.

The system I have is Windows 7-64bit with an i7 930 CPU and the Aja Xena card (now know as Kona-PC). For the scratch disk I'm using a Raid 0 drive with 6 SATA WD RE2 500GB drives.

I'm capturing HD-SDI video (1920x1080 59.94i - 10bit 4:2:2) into Premiere Pro CS3 to the Cineform codec (with the large file size option selected).

All power saving options, screen savers, etc are turned off. CPU usage during this capture is usually around 15%.

Can anyone think of why I would be dropping frames -- Am I missing something?

Thanks, Alex
Alex Lafkovici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 12:00 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is odd as it is clearly not CPU loaded. Weirdly try capturing to your system drive, or any single non-RAID drive. While RAIDs can be very fast, they often introduce latencies.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 12:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
How much drive space is available on your RAID?

Many drives drop performance precipitously as you rise above half-full...particularly if it's fragmented from video editing.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 12:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: S. Ozone Park
Posts: 25
Tim:

The RAID is nearly empty, it's been freshly formatted.

David:

I'll try that in a little while, but will my single WD RE2 SATA main drive have the throughput to support this?

Do you guys think that capturing with HD Link instead of Premiere Pro would be better?

Thanks,
Alex
Alex Lafkovici is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 03:08 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1080i is only 12-20MB/s most drives can do that.

HDLink is a simplified version of the Premiere capture interface, so it shouldn't be different -- worth trying.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 02:35 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 425
I've had the same problem with capturing HDV 720p footage from within PPro CS3. Lots of dropped frames, and sections where video was captured but no sound.

By sections, I mean in the middle of a 1 hour tape, I have a 20 minute section with no sound. If I just click the .avi files and play them outside of Premiere, they have sound.

When I capture with HDLink, I don't have this problem. I've done it both ways with the same tape. Now I only use HDLink.

I don't know if this is the cause, but this only started after I upgraded to the latest version of ProspectHD.
Dennis Stevens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network