Re-wrap AVI<=>MOV feature in ReMaster/NeoScene? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 26th, 2010, 09:10 AM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Re-wrap AVI<=>MOV feature in ReMaster/NeoScene?

1. Will we ever see the re-wrap AVI<->MOV feature in ReMaster? Or is something preventing this?
2. Any chance we ever see the re-wrap AVI<->MOV feature in NeoScene?


* as I understand it, this feature is now only available in HDLink on the PC.
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 11:33 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1. You do have AVI to MOV rewrap on the Mac -- the direction most needed. It is unlikely we will add the reverse, as it is a lot of work for a minor feature.

2. It not an NeoScene feature.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
Why is mov to avi isn't needed?
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 12:00 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You don't need AVI on the Mac and a PC users of CineForm can use either MOV or AVI. If a Pro user needs AVI on the PC for a particular application (VirtualDub, AVISynth), NeoHD on the PC has MOV to AVI. Basically both platforms have conversion from the less common to the more common.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 08:09 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
With your free decoder, I was able to pass some cineform file from my pc to my collegue who works on a mac and he was able to read my avi without any problem. Is there a drawback using avi files on a mac?
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 08:15 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Not much. Under FCP is will not used the 32-bit float pixel format mode with AVIs, but most aren't using that.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network