Edius 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2010, 07:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Edius 5

My understanding is that Edius 5 is not supported by Cineform, and that this would seem to mean capturing and any sort of integration with Edius' monitoring function or any type of acceleration.

The trial of Edius 5 that I am working with is able to mix HDV, CFHD, (and starting tomorrow I will be able to drop in some EX1 footage!). All clips play smoothly.... realtime transistions, and this with a very modestly powered Win7 workstation with only 4gb of RAM.

The trial version doesn't seem to allow an export to file, which is certainly understandable.

My question is, will Edius see and recognize Cineform as a codec and output to it?

If not, is there any lossless path (short of an uncompressed HD file) to a CFHD file from the Edius 5 timeline?

Is there any reason First Light would not function in an Edius 5 environment? At first glance, it seems to be doing all its usual wonderful stuff.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 10:22 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Didn't even know Edius would decode CineForm files -- if it does that FirstLight will work. I don't know where export codec type it supports. It might use Quicktime, so you can get to CineForm that way.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 10:52 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Hey David... thanks for chiming in.

The CFHD files work like a charm in the timeline.

What would Edius need to see in order for it to encode to Cineform? Is having the codec installed merely enough, or does an NLE require more integration that allows it to export a CFHD file?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:22 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Most NLEs use standard codec APIs for export. CineForm has implemented all of them, VfW, DirstShow and Quicktime, Edius should should at least one of these.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:27 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
I will dig deeper on that front. In the meantime, CFHD with First Light adjustments are playing back smooth as silk in the Edius 5 timeline. I'm sorta stunned.

With the simultaneous and realtime vector/waveform window, the First Light adjustments are even easier than ever and rapidly becoming my favorite part of the entire Cineform package..... it's brilliant.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network