Neo3D v5 out in public beta (Mac and PC.) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2010, 08:02 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Neo3D v5 out in public beta (Mac and PC.)

Read more info on the techblog here : Cineform Tech Blog Blog Archive Neo3D v5.0 (Mac and Win) Beta Releases Available

These is so much in this one it will take a while to create the readme of changes.

NeoScene/HD/4K v5.0 will be out for beta next week.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 08:08 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
Thank you Davids - brave new world.
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 08:41 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
I have CS5 and Neo3D v5 installed and working like a charm.

The new FirstLight seems beyond my wildest dreams. Thank you again.
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 09:04 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Wow! Thanks nice feedback so early -- and I'm sure you haven't discovered half of the new enhancements. Plus we didn't consider this beta finished (well we never do that, as any product can always be improved) but that are a couple of extra performance tweaks we hope to do for the official 5.0 (if not then 5.0.1 a few weeks later)

Did you find this in CS5: right clicking bin clip, and selecting "Source Setting..." brings up FirstLight on that clip (even if the clip wasn't in your FL project?)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 02:46 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 124
I sense there are countless new capabilities I haven't yet discovered. Source Setting to get to the clip in FirstLight is excellent... and Ghost Busting !?!! Thanks again - the future came so fast, I wasn't prepared.
David H. Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 12:34 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 43
So I have the CS5 trial installed along with the Cineform Neo v5 beta. Five layers of video, all but the bottom layer have effects, and all also have been scaled to do Picture in Picture. NO supported video card. Vista 64, 8 gigs of RAM, and my CPU is an Intel Q6600 quad core 2.4 GHz... so it's not the latest or greatest or particularly fast.

Butter. Absolutely butter. It's not until a little ways into it that there is any noticeable slowdown playing back realtime, but it's not that bad... especially considering the number of layers and effects.

However, when tried to see how long it would take to render that out, it gave me an odd error message halfway through the render and crashed. I'm going to assume its a bug in the Cineform beta... unfortunately, I didn't think to write it down.

In any event, I'm almost scare to see what a newer i7 and a supported card can do. I have to say in the little bit I played with it, I was impressed... right until it crashed =/
Mike Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 10:11 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
I'm a bit confused on the versions of Neo. Mike, are you running Neo3D?

Coming from ProspectHD.... is the Neo3D beta inclusive of what we'll see with Neo 5, or should I await the beta release of it?

The product comparison grid at the Cineform website isn't clear to me.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 10:30 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 43
Yeah, the only beta available is Neo3D, but it has all the features of the other versions.
Mike Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 10:55 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Marty,

The Prospect product line is going way, but many of its features are merging into Neo. We haven't put the old Prospect CS2/3 support into Neo yet, but it will happen for the full release.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 02:09 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
I know that Prospect is now legacy and the Neo 5 upgrade is what is on deck, but what I am confused about is what is the difference between Neo3D 5 and the upcoming Neo 5?

As a ProspectHD customer waiting on Neo 5, does it do me any good to install Neo3D 5 and test with CS5?
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 06:46 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Neo3D v5 and Neo4K v5 (what you will be upgraded to) are very similar, so if you don;t want to wait a few more days, use the Neo3D trail as it has the CS5 support added.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 07:23 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Thanks David.

I will deactivate and uninstall Prospect.

Thank you for getting back with the info.... as always, appreciated very much.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 07:31 PM   #13
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Never de-activate, unless you are moving systems. Uninstall is all that is recommended when switching products.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 07:44 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
D-oh! I knew that... I swear I did.

Thanks David!
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 08:48 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
I'm running the CS5 trial and now the Neo3D trial.

Under Cineform presets, Neo3D appears to only offer 24fps (23.976). Is that really the case, or is there some way to utilize 29.97?

Also, HDLink offers no conversion options from 29.97fps except to 25fps.

Existing clips (encoded with ProspectHD) @ 29.97 and imported into a @23.976fps project don't play smoothly.

It seems to be a "can't get there from here" scenario so fas as trying to test out some Cineform clips in CS5 while awaiting Neo V5.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network