Settings for 5Dmk2 24fps at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2010, 08:41 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Settings for 5Dmk2 24fps

I must admit I've been a hair confused with the whole CineForm product line. I have recently shot via the new firmware 24fps. I own NeoScene v1.6.0 (and yes the new v5 confused me momentarily). The only application I use is the HDLink convert feature to batch convert my MOV files to AVI files on my PC.
I write computer software and also do photography and video with no formal training.

I want to make sure that I'm optimizing the content at every stage of the process. That said if I shoot 1920x1080 @24fps what should be the optimal settings for converting this to AVI?

Right now all I have is
Quality - High
Output Frame format - Maintain source frame format

Is that about it? Am i missing something.

Is this the correct product for what I'm trying to do which is to edit for Vegas Movie Studio PE 9b( Build 92)

TIA
Harry
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 09:05 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
If you don't mind the small increase in data rate also select "I-frame" encoding -- this speeds up most tools a little and helps in Vegas renders. As you know you source is progressive, set it so. Also look into a NeoHD upgrade, because Canon HDSLRs and FirstLight are a very good fit.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 09:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Also look into a NeoHD upgrade, because Canon HDSLRs and FirstLight are a very good fit.

I would agree with David on this. I'm using the 5D Mark II and having more of a Photography background, FirstLight is MUCH more intuitive/easier than alot of the presets in Premiere/After Effects for color correcting.
Brant Gajda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 09:48 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
If you don't mind the small increase in data rate also select "I-frame" encoding -- this speeds up most tools a little and helps in Vegas renders. As you know you source is progressive, set it so. Also look into a NeoHD upgrade, because Canon HDSLRs and FirstLight are a very good fit.
David I have "I-frames only" checked already. Selecting "Maintin source frame format" achieves the progressive setting? I see no where else to set this.

What would NeoHD give me as a 5Dmk2 user and i'll have to check into FirstLight as I've never heard of it before.

Thanks
Harry
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 10:59 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry yes, NeoScene you can't directly control the progressive vs interlaced settings.

NeoHD give you so much more. Too much to describe here, put having worked on and used FirstLight with Canon footage for long, I can't see video work without it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 12:52 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Thanks David

$450 eh - any upgrade credit from NeoScene.

I gues I'd still use Sony Vegas - I'll have to check it out.

Appreciate your help and responses.
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 01:06 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We do credit the current MSRP on your exiting product toward you upgrade (whatever the upgrade), so that would be $129 off NeoHD in your case -- normally.

HOWEVER, We are rolling out a NeoScene 1.x to NeoHD v5.0 upgrade special in a few days.

So you can do NeoScene 1.x to 5.x for $49
OR
NeoScene 1.x to NeoHD 5.x for $249, a $121 (33%) savings over a typical NeoHD upgrade. ($499 - $129 = $370.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 01:17 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
David, Did I just mess myself around...

I just updated my Neoscene to NEOHD for $370 a couple days ago so I could get the V5 of NEOHD...

Now your showing a price of $250 ??? Can I get a discount or something???
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Endicott New York
Posts: 54
David, that is an offer I can not refuse. :)
Ed Baldwin
Edwin Baldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 01:25 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We can't win can we. :) No worries Ray, will credit you the difference.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 01:52 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Thanks David....

I did the upgrade as a suggestion from a topic you and Chris were talking about the other day... Just didn't know there was going to be specials offered...

later
Ray Bell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network