Upgrade NeoScene? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 14th, 2010, 06:44 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Upgrade NeoScene?

Since I have to shell out another $50 for a version number upgrade
Since I bought this in late August 2009
Since I can't determine what the upgrade gives me
Since the web site is graphically lovely but informationally frustrating

I will be sticking with my trusty NeoScene 1.6 for which there is one useable application called HdLink for conversion and that's it.

I actually thought I was going to get a free version upgrade today - sorry a little disillusioned this evening.....
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2010, 09:25 AM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
If you're not interested in First Light and its RT, non-destructive color correction, and you're not interested in CS5, then it is true that you may not need to upgrade right now. We continuously add new features to our products, so if we add something you need in the future, such as new camera support or another new feature, that can be your trigger to upgrade.

If you purchased in 2010 then you are entitled to a free upgrade.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2010, 09:21 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576

Are you saying that by paying the $50 upgrade to NeoScene v5, you get First Light and its RT, non-destructive color correction?

If not, what exactly does the $50 upgrade to NeoScene get you?
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2010, 09:35 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
The original post was discussing upgrading the NeoHD (although that was from another thread.) Sorry, FirstLight is only in NeoHD not NeoScene. NeoScene upgrades are for CS5 support, importers and exporters and project presets, and a faster decoder (for all tools,) a 12-18 months of free updates we add the the product. We don't hold off many features for a big upgrade release, so we typically time update to coincide with Adobe release cycle. NeoScene like all over tools will likely go through a 5.1, 5.2 and so on, to support new cameras and add features as the market needs. So upgrade now if you are switching to CS5 or upgrade when a feature need arrives. OR look at the NeoHD upgrade special as they are many good reasons to make that jump now.
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network