Invalid Activation, Trial Running Out-Help, help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 19th, 2010, 09:46 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Invalid Activation, Trial Running Out-Help, help

Upgrading from PHD 4.x to Neo4K v. 5.
Uninstall PHD (but not deactivated), N4K Install went fine, N4K working fine with CS5, received serial #, received activation key, but get error message "activation key invalid".
Uninstall, redownload N4K build 256a, install, same problem.
Filed Trouble Ticket #611-8307672 & has been in a few days now, but no helpful activity.
I don't know if I need a new SN, new Activation Key, or what.
I know support is jammed up, and I normally wouldn't sweat this, but my trial period is running out in a couple of days leaving me dead in the water.
Would appreciate any help.
Thanks
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 04:15 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
just get same error now with same install.
deinstalled neo5, reinstalled phd4, deactivated phd4, installed neo5, same problem.
reinstalled and reactivated phd4 until problem is solved
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 11:50 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giroud Francois View Post
just get same error now with same install.
deinstalled neo5, reinstalled phd4, deactivated phd4, installed neo5, same problem.
reinstalled and reactivated phd4 until problem is solved
Will PHD 4 work with CS5?
I no longer have CS4 on this computer; also am in the middle of a couple of CS5 projects.
It's pretty weird- I've never had this sort of activation problem with any CF product before.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 12:55 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No PHD4 has no 64-bit components, other the VFW codec (which will work -- but only in the desktop modes.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 05:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Young View Post
Will PHD 4 work with CS5?
I no longer have CS4 on this computer; also am in the middle of a couple of CS5 projects.
It's pretty weird- I've never had this sort of activation problem with any CF product before.
I was having a similar problem, "S/N Invalid", but I realized that my browser (Firefox) was set up with such a large amount of website script blocking, that it might have been interfering with some aspect of the activation process. I was also having trouble downloading the Neo 4K V5 program zip files. When I tried doing everything with Internet Explorer, it worked perfectly.

That may not be your problem, but it's worth a shot.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 08:07 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
found solution. Stupid me has installed Neo HD instead Neo 4k (web site and mail are not very clear about that )
still under CS3.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2010, 05:51 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
I clearly have Neo4K v. 5 installed, also using Explorer browser, but the activation key simply will not unlock the software.
I've had no solutions from support, so they must be stumped as well.
Could I be the only one with this problem???
There has to be a way to fix this.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2010, 09:00 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Support will be back up to steam tomorrow, so it will be sorted out soon.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 02:07 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Surprising solution, but worked like a charm.
Many thanks
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2010, 11:54 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 80
Bob,
Please share what happened. Thanks.

John
John Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2010, 06:51 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Support had me type in my registered owner name a little differently, same serial #, same activation key, and activation was finally successful.
My guess is that it was some sort of security work-around. I still don't know what the original activation problem was, but it's history now :)
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network