CS5 Export Problems with CFHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2010, 07:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
CS5 Export Problems with CFHD

I'm suffering from frequent crashes when trying to export Cineform files from Premiere CS5. Exporting from a CFHD timeline to CFHD is fine, no problem. It is when I try to export a CFHD timeline to MPEG-2 DVD format that it crashes after about 20 seconds into the timline.

One odd thing is that this only happens when I export using the "export" button. When I use "queue" to bring up the stand-alone encoder, the export goes fine.

Non-cineform exports go well; it is only with the CFHD 1920x1080i 25fps to MPEG-2 DVD direct export that I have this problem. That's why I'm posting here, and not on the Adobe forum.

I initially suspected bad frames, but the crash point is always about 20 seconds into the area being exported, even on different timelines with different source material. If I try to just export the few seconds around the last crash point, all goes well. Looking at the memory usage of the PC doesn't show anything abnormally high before the crash, about 60-70%. The files were recently captured to CFHD 1980x1080i from a Canon XHA1.

I tried dynamic linking a CFHD timeline to an Encore project, and encountered the same crashing.

I can use the AME workaround for now, but I'd love to able to dynamic link to Encore.

Some details: Prod Premium CS5.01, Win 7 64, Asus P5E MB, Intel Q9450, 8GB memory, Cineform Neo4K build 258
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 06:13 PM   #2
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,441
I don't know if this is related at all, but when I first installed CS5 and opened a project with a beta version of Neo3D v 5 (no CF presets at that time), I had no problems with the editing (yellow rendering line was present), but when exporting to BR, either directly, or via AME, I got lock ups, crashes, and no success.
However, I was able to export the timeline to CFHD.avi. Within the same project, I opened a proper CF "preset" sequence (now using release v of Neo 4K), put the CFHD movie on the new timeline (no yellow line now) and it will export like gangbusters (8 cores @ 90+%) to any format I desire.
To finish the project I simply copied the remaining (unrendered) edited clips from the original sequence & pasted onto the new sequence. Again- no further problems.
Robert Young is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network