Adobe Bridge CS5 Crash with Cineform Installed at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 5th, 2010, 12:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 147
Adobe Bridge CS5 Crash with Cineform Installed

When I try and launch Adobe bridge, if i navigate bridge into a folder which has Cineform Media I get a crash.

I am on Windows 7 64bit Professional, any work arounds to this or fixs?

ADOBE BRIDGE CS5

Problem signature:

Problem Event Name: APPCRASH

Application Name: Bridge.exe

Application Version: 4.0.0.529

Application Timestamp: 4b963c03

Fault Module Name: CFHDCodec.qtx

Fault Module Version: 1.7.0.58

Fault Module Timestamp: 4be9f507

Exception Code: c0000005

Exception Offset: 000be185

OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48

Locale ID: 2057

Additional Information 1: 0a9e

Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Additional Information 3: 0a9e

Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Leo Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 10:04 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
File a ticket with support, I guessing they will need sample media that causes this. Why are you using QuickTime/MOV based files?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 03:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 147
Hello David,

I am only using Cineform AVI files. I did a test build with Windows 7, cs3 and Bridge crashes as well pointing to a cineform qtx file. Maybe Quicktime has something to do with it perhaps?

I did mention it to Jake but I know support has been busy so he has not had a chance to look into it yet with the bridge issue.

Leo
Leo Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 05:14 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 11
I also get the exact same error message when browsing directories with CineForm AVI files on a Vista 64 system. Don't use MOV very often, never as CineForm files. Do have QuickTime Pro v.7.6.6 installed.

The Adobe updater downloaded and installed an update for Bridge CS5/Windows today, bringing it up to v.4.02.1; it doesn't appear to have any effect on this problem.

Thing is, it doesn't happen every time, just randomly. I can see the status bar building "thumbnail extractions/preview extractions" on the files and sometimes it works fine, sometimes it just crashes.

Don't recall ever having this problem with Bridge CS4 with NeoScene/Windows, but only since I've upgraded to NeoHD v.5 has it started happening. Get the same error message with Bridge CS4 as well.
Galen Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 12:25 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keuruu, Finland
Posts: 67
Same happens also here.
I installed new NeoHD and Production Premium CS5. Bridge will crash every time when opening a directory with Cineform avies. I think to move avies to own subdirectory for this reason.
System is Vista 64.
Hannu Korpinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 11:45 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I have confirmed also. Clearly a Bridge bug of sorts, as it is using a QuickTime component to load an AVI -- that is odd -- we will see what we can do.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 11:54 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Already found the workaround. Strangely Bridge is still a 32-bit application, and we didn't know we need a 32-bit port of CS5 -- Adobe doesn't tell developers that sort of thing :). Yet the CS4 32-bit importer works in CS5 for Bridge.

The fix:

1) Open Windows Explorer to this folder
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Common\Plug-ins

2) You will likely see a CS3 and CS4 folder there. Copy and Paste the CS4 folder so you have duplicate, rename it CS5.

3) Restart Bridge.

Thumbnails are work and no crash.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 12:01 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keuruu, Finland
Posts: 67
Thank you David,
that seems to help.
Hannu Korpinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 12:29 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keuruu, Finland
Posts: 67
Unfortunately Adobe OnLocation cannot show Cineform avi files. Is there any work around?
Hannu Korpinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 12:42 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No, On Location is for camera formats only, not extensible AFAIK. Notice when you place CF AVI they show random 8x8 macroblocks, CineForm doesn't have any blocking so it is playing with some random decoder. If you using it for scopes, FirstLight can do that for you.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 04:23 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Already found the workaround. Strangely Bridge is still a 32-bit application, and we didn't know we need a 32-bit port of CS5 -- Adobe doesn't tell developers that sort of thing :). Yet the CS4 32-bit importer works in CS5 for Bridge.
I don't think this problem is universal with Win 7 x64 and Bridge CS5, as the thumbnails work perfectly for Cineform AVI files, for me without any problems. Why wouldn't Bridge CS5 just find the 32 bit VFW CFHD codec and use that directly, just like any other 32 bit program does?
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2010, 06:06 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Jay, I agree, Bridge should have just worked. Never liked that tool.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2010, 02:24 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
I wonder if the problem depends on whether you install the optional 32 bit support pack (AE &P Pro CS4), from the CS5 Production Suite?

Mine is a clean install of only CS5 on a Win 7 x64 PC.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 01:23 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Bloomfield View Post
I don't think this problem is universal with Win 7 x64 and Bridge CS5, as the thumbnails work perfectly for Cineform AVI files, for me without any problems. Why wouldn't Bridge CS5 just find the 32 bit VFW CFHD codec and use that directly, just like any other 32 bit program does?
Still not all my thumbnails work nor after this workaround. And i am on 7/64 with CS4 and CS5.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9th, 2010, 01:36 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Also file are bug report with Adobe, as Bridge is doing it best not to load thumbnails, we don't know why.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network