FirstLight- Is this the way it is supposed to work ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2010, 01:12 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
FirstLight- Is this the way it is supposed to work ?

I finished a film last week, about nine minutes long. In Vegas Pro 9, I rendered it to a master .avi file, in Vegas, using the Cineform codec.

In a new project, I decided I would try using First Light to do a final color treatment to the film. But some scenes I wanted to add one look, while on others I wanted to use another. So on the new time line, I broke up the file in 15 individual scenes by splitting file on the time line. Then for each scene, I rendered 15 successive files in Cineform .avi files again. The render created 15 separate files. During the render process, Vegas showed a screen indicating there was a message that rerendering not required, but a separate file for each scene was rendered out.

Next, I opened FirstLight, brought all 15 files in. I highlighted one scene, and picked look and the color file changes, correspondingly. I then went to next file, which I wanted to give a different treatment. I selected another look. Eventually, as I go through files, I think I am selecting out for each one. No, I was wrong, whatever change I made to one of the 15, was made to the rest.

Can someone explain why that happens ?
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2010, 01:22 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You need to turn of the smart rendering in Vegas as all you did was split the source file. The original frames still point to the same database entries. Every CineForm frame has a GUID - global unique identifier, only a full render will change that. Or the can use CFRepair on your new files, it had a switch to generate a new GUID.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2010, 01:36 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Thanks Dave, that answers a whole lot of question in one fell swoop...
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network