EDL and Cineform project at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 9th, 2010, 12:13 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
EDL and Cineform project

Hello, I have a problem. I have some files from a Canon 7D camera converted to cineform with NEO HD. The files and quality is great but I have a timecode problem. I understand that Cineform creates the timecode using the time/date of the clips right? When I export the EDL from premiere everything seems fine but when I import the same EDL in Assimilate Scratch the timecode is not correctly reported on the timeline...
Is there any difference usign mov or avi files? Thank you!
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 03:22 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
Solved but with pain

I solved the issue. I tried to convert the same files in cineform usign HD link with a different extension, osing a .mov instead of avi. In this way everything is working fine but it's a huge pain. The new .mov files have a different timecode (each clip starts from 00:00:00). In avi instead each clip assumes the timecode of date and time. Is there a way to make the timocde start at 00:00:00 using Avi?

thank you
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 05:50 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Scratch is assuming AVI have no timecode, when CineForm AVIs do, and the HDLink wrap only places the timecode in the sample, not the MOV timecode track (two wrongs somehow making a right.) This is not a simple solution for this yet, other than editing the start timecode in Premeire to make each clip start at 00:00 -- a bit of a pain. That might be faster than having Assimilate read the CineForm timecode metadata from the sample.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 06:00 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
ok, How can I make each avi cineform clip timecode start at 00:00 in premiere? I can also just edit using cineform mov...
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 06:41 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It turns out it is easy. In the clip bin select your perfectly timecoded AVIs, right click and select Modify -> Timecode and set them to 0. Export your EDL now. MOV support is coming (delayed by Apple Quicktime being only 32-bit, we need 64-bit MOV libraries for CS5.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2010, 06:47 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LA, California
Posts: 22
Thank you so so so much. It's working great!!!!!!!!!
Matero Materassi is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network