Final Cut Express vs Pro for Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2010, 04:08 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Final Cut Express vs Pro for Cineform

At time, I am using iMovie fora rough cut and then using XML import to prevent rendering the files.

I do not foresee using any effects, and the Cineform Color corrector is fine for me.

Hence, I would like to stick with FCE.

Are there gotchas about working in FCE with Cineform ? I will simply export the iMovie XML and open it in FCE to preserve the iMovie basic edit and then use FCE to render.
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 10:13 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I don't believe FCE works with any outside codecs -- camera native only.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 07:08 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
So FCP is the only option for MAC Cineform-native editing ? Is there any other NLE ? PPro ?
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2010, 10:44 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
On Mac OSX Media 100 is native CineForm, and PPro CS5 support is only week aways with betas in a few hands already.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2010, 03:35 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Hi David. So the only options on OSX for native CF editing are CS5 Premiere Pro, CS5 After Effects, Final Cut Pro and Media 100.
Am I missing something here ?
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2010, 11:23 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is pretty good already, but it also works in tools from iMovie to Iridas Speedgrade, and just announced at IBC DaVinci Resolve now has native CineForm support (2D and 3D.) The only two tools not supported are the intentional closed Apple apps, FCExpress and Color.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2010, 06:45 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Hi David. iMovie transcodes to AIC irrespective of the codec that the raw footage is in. iMovie definitely does not have a Cineform workflow.
__________________
mishra.tv Productions
A Sydney-based group for dance movement-based video and film productions.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2010, 11:32 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There is way to make iMovie work, I seen it working without a transcode. Although it may not have been the latest iMovie, maybe 08 or 09 worked. If iMovie is important to you (really?) contact support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 11:29 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 142
You can leave the clips in CineForm format in iMovie '09. When you import a movie, uncheck "Optimize video..." and just "copy" the files. After copying the files iMovie creates a motion JPEG thumbnail, but the source is still CineForm. I just tried a clip which was in 3D. On a 13" Macbook Pro, it drops frames under QuickTime, FirstLight or FCP, but plays smoothly in iMovies since iMovie requests a lower resolution decode.
Craig Davidson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network