Beta 5.1.2.271 should address many issues - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2010, 10:56 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
This release seems OK.

Still, it appears that it decelerates Premiere CS5, not accelerates it. I'm talking about real-time playback, which used to be one of the main advantages of Cineform in the days when Premiere could not do so on its own (Premiere Pro 2.0 and lower). I still cannot use CineformRT sequence mode - even at 1/4 playback resolution, it plays at maybe 10fps max. Old trick with Open GL set to 3D horizontal half-resolution stopped working - I do get smooth playback for about 3 sec, then image freezes while sound continues.
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 11:08 AM   #17
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That sounds like an issue for support, as I'm using CS5 now as my default NLE (personal projects) and having no playback performance issues (2D or 3D). Yet it does work better with OpenGL enabled (it shouldn't) so that is room from improvement.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 133
David, so we "still" have the real-time playback accelerates? It's not gone right? Coming from Prospect HD and this makes me worried!!!

Now CS5.0.2 with Neo 4K (not installed yet thought)

Regards
Mikael
Mikael Bergstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 12:15 PM   #19
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Acceleration under CS5 is quite different, and not so incompatible -- previously only our filters would play, now all filters play. It is a more conservative approach as PC are getting faster, so we didn't need to replace so much on Premiere. Seven years ago when we did Aspect HD and followed up by Prospect, we used very little of Adobe own engine, it got lots of speed but there where trade-offs that we are not willing to take today (also some of it would not port to 64-bit and Windows 7.) The accleration is mostly through the codecs performance and FirstLight, which works with all editing modes within CS5, so there is still a good speed advantage over many native codecs. Today most of the value add with the playmodule is for 3D, although there will be more for 2D now that Premeire Pro 5.0.2 is out (there are some new internal features we can exploit.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network