Intensity Shuttle + Cineform + Vegas9 - Compatible? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 4th, 2010, 03:45 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Intensity Shuttle + Cineform + Vegas9 - Compatible?

Just wondering if anyone has a definite, "YES IT WORKS!" with the Intensity Shuttle + Cineform + Vegas9?

Once again the Aja's are great cards (i have two) but too expensive and the SDI i/o is rather useless in my workflow.
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2010, 08:48 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 25
Yes, it works.

Mark

PS I tested this with a trial version of vegas pro 9 that has now expired, so unfortunately I likely won't be able to provide further details. Was using NEO HD v 4.something with it.
Mark Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 07:52 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Great Mark! Good to hear!

A little surprising...and scary that only one person responded though?

When The Intensity Pro (the Shuttle's older sister) came out a few years ago everyone was asking for Cineform + Intensity Pro + Vegas. It never came! And many people on the boards were asking for it. Eventually the asking stopped?

I wonder what happened to all those people. Did they jump ship..not from cineform, but more likely from Vegas to PPCS4/5?

Or

Possibly motherboards w/USB3 that are Shuttle supported are too new?
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 08:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
I jumped onto a Nanoflash. Much easier to use in the field and I abandoned my portable intensity rig. It is still some of the sweetest footage I have ever captured though. Vegas never played nice with it though
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 08:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
oh ya capturing!

I never used cineform for capture. I was much more concerned with a monitoring workflow! Being able to monitor online in HD was goal that took me through a lot of setups.

Proxies, uncompressed, etc.

Cineform with AJA was one of the winning, albeit expensive combos.

With Shuttle and Cineform i can (or will be able to ) get 10bit HD realtime output - and its not expensive!
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 10:19 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Calla View Post
Great Mark! Good to hear!

A little surprising...and scary that only one person responded though?

When The Intensity Pro (the Shuttle's older sister) came out a few years ago everyone was asking for Cineform + Intensity Pro + Vegas. It never came! And many people on the boards were asking for it. Eventually the asking stopped?

I wonder what happened to all those people. Did they jump ship..not from cineform, but more likely from Vegas to PPCS4/5?

Or

Possibly motherboards w/USB3 that are Shuttle supported are too new?
I am thinking it's probably the latter. The system requirements are fairly specific / high end. I got away with an older gigabyte ud5 motherboard (i7 / x58) and an ASUS usb3.0 / sata 3 card. The shuttle installed fine, but I cannot update its firmware.

FYI, the Vegas implementation is quite simple (no presets or other weirdness) but it doesn't send sound out, just video. Also I tried the shuttle with pp cs4 + cineform (worked fine) and pp cs5+cineform (stalls every 3 seconds).
Mark Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2010, 11:30 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Interesting about the firmware. Maybe when the shuttle's rigid requirements are the norm it'll be easier to do.

About the sound, that's too bad, although i'm not sure how i'd implement multi-channel audio via HDMI in the first place?? I use a usb/firewrire audio i/o anyways so...
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network