need to convert to cineform intermediate avi at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 22nd, 2010, 07:59 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
need to convert to cineform intermediate avi

I have premiere pro 1.5.1 and the HD mov file I have won't work. Reading the readme file on the premiere pro update I see that it converts HDV into Cineform intermediate avi to edit. So, I guess I need to convert the .mov file to a CineForm intermediate avi?

I don't normally do editing, and just need to convert this one file and probably nothing ever again. Is there a free way to convert this one file? Please excuse me, I'm very inexperienced with HD. :)

BTW, I don't know what camera it was shot on, but it was a local news broadcast so their camera must be broadcast quality.
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2010, 10:53 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
We don't formally support PPro 1.5.1 any more, but it might work. Download NeoHD, and convert using the included tool, HDLink. The tools is fully functional for 15-days.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 05:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
Can you do it without any hardware? I just need to convert the file I don't have a camera or anything. I downloaded the HDlink file and all of the options were grayed out. It needed hardware to work. ?

Last edited by Jonathan Grant; September 23rd, 2010 at 09:31 AM.
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:42 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
Anyone know?
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 08:48 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
just a computer is needed.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 02:02 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
NEOhd did the conversion to cineform intermediate AVI! However, when I put it into premiere pro 1.5 it says there is an error in the cineform decoder. Any idea what the problem might be? The video shows up green when I put it into the timeline, and black when it's not.

Is there any specific settings I needed to put in to make it work when I converted it?
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 02:24 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
seems like we are no longer compatible with PPro 1.5. 1.5.1 shipped with a very old decoder, not compatible with the modern bit-streams. If you remove the adobe plug-ins any *.prm with "CFHD" in the name you may be able to use PPro 1.5.1.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 03:36 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
I'm not sure if I know exactly what you mean. I found only one .prn file with CFHD in it and deleted it. Now when I try to import the file it says that the compression isn't supported.

Was I supposed to replace that file with something? That file is what decodes it, isn't it? Sorry, I'm just a bit confused. :)
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2010, 05:16 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,091
Then PPro 1.5.1 is now longer supported.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network