Update neoscene question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2010, 10:23 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Update neoscene question

I currently have Neoscene version 5.07, now I would like to update neoscene version 5.2. I don't want to do anything until I got a clear answer how it done because I ocassionally see people update their Neoscene and then having licensing problem.

I am thinking install the new version 5.2 over the old one???? is that a go?
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 11:15 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Licensing issue may only occur you are moving major versions (like 4.x to 5.x,) or you deactivate when you shouldn't. In either case a trouble ticket with support will fix it. Moving from 5.07 and 5.2 uses the same license, just uninstall the old and reinstall the new. I do this nearly everyday as put of my testing, no licensing issue.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 11:48 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
David.


Unfortunately I won't be able to give you feedback on PP2 within a useful time. I had forgotten I had not sought a new activation code for Prospect 2K after the re-install and it is has lapsed. Have doing my short camera tests in desktop mode. Needs a new computer. I'll get around to it but am juggling the too few dollars and cents right now.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 11:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Licensing issue may only occur you are moving major versions (like 4.x to 5.x,) or you deactivate when you shouldn't. In either case a trouble ticket with support will fix it. Moving from 5.07 and 5.2 uses the same license, just uninstall the old and reinstall the new. I do this nearly everyday as put of my testing, no licensing issue.

It done. All good, thank you. From now on I am not afraid to update any new version of neoscene.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 12:19 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
What are the steps to upgrade? And will Neoscene work on Nanoflash files?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 12:37 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Licensing issue may only occur you are moving major versions (like 4.x to 5.x,) or you deactivate when you shouldn't. In either case a trouble ticket with support will fix it. Moving from 5.07 and 5.2 uses the same license, just uninstall the old and reinstall the new. I do this nearly everyday as put of my testing, no licensing issue.
This might be a stupid question but why and when do you deactivate neoscene?

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 06:54 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Little View Post
What are the steps to upgrade? And will Neoscene work on Nanoflash files?
No, Nanoflash used a high bit-rate high profile MXF MPEG2, that support is in NeoHD and above. NeoScene is desgined for HDV (stand profile MPEG2) and AVCHD (H.264) sources only.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 06:56 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stelios Christofides View Post
This might be a stupid question but why and when do you deactivate neoscene?

Stelios
When moving a license to a new PC, or reinstalling a fresh OS (like a new PC.) Either case deactivate first, when on the new system activate like the product is new,
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2010, 08:46 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Hi Dave,

When I was using Neoscene version 5.07 and everything work fine. Few days ago I update to version 5.2 and now I got NO audio... Whats up with that??


PS, I did reinstall AC3 filter and still NO audio on converted video.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2010, 09:10 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We didn't change audio support in anyway that I know of, and it is still work for all the source I've started. Support will likely have the answer, so please file a trouble ticket.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2010, 09:17 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
can you post the supoort link here please.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2010, 09:27 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is on the front page of cineform.com under support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2010, 09:32 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rochester,NY USA
Posts: 282
Yup. Just submitted the ticket.
Bruce Phung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network