Sony VG10 and Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2010, 07:45 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Sony VG10 and Cineform

I've just started working with footage from the new Sony VG10 APS chip camera.
It's format is a bit unusual- it actually shoots 30p, but divides each frame to fields and records it as 60i.
On HDLink conversion, if I set the prefs source footage selector to 60i & put the resulting CFHD on a CS5 60i timeline, the previewing has some aliasing and tearing.
If I set HDLink source setting to 30p, convert & put on a 30p timeline, it looks good.
I'm not sure exactly what HDLink is doing though.
Is it
1) properly combining the 2 fields back into the original 30p, or
2) doing a software "deinterlace" with some undesirable massaging of the fields, or
3) even worse, processing only half my horizontal resolution (hardly likely, since PPro reads the CFHD file as 1920x1080.
Would appreciate any info/experience, etc.
Thanks
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 09:01 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1) it is combining the two fields into on progressive frame.

I don't have a VG10 sample, could you please upload a nice clip we can test with.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 10:32 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Definitely can do that:
It will be an AVCHD clip ingested from the camera card to the hard drive by the Sony PMB software.
I can get you one straight off of the card, but I don't think that would matter.
I'll attach it to a trouble ticket, attention to you.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2010, 10:55 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
David
Ooops..
The clip was 43MB and was too large to deliver on a trouble ticket.
Maybe you can give me an FTP link
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 12:48 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
use Yousendit.com. Put the send to email so yourself, then email me (via DVInfo.net) the link that yousendit.com emails you.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 05:03 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Got it.
I'll get it off tonight.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2010, 11:21 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
I'm very interested in the answer to Bob's questions also. I'm purchasing a VG10 this week, and I've been reading up on the specs. It appears that it's recording 30p but within a 60i wrapper. If that's the case, I agree that you'd set to capture as 30p, and hopefully it's doing as David states.

I don't know if you were able to take a look yet at Bob's footage, David, but if this helps, there are also a number of downloadable clips on Vimeo here, although I wonder if the Vimeo recodes take out the info you need to determine what the Cineform software should do with it:

Sony NEX-VG10 User Group videos on Vimeo

Sony NEX-VG10 Lens Test - Sony NEX-VG10 User Group on Vimeo
James Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2010, 11:51 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Get the latest beta 5.2.2.281 as it handles the VG10 very well. We even change a lot of the conversion pipeline within HDLink to fix this camera. This whole progressive frames in 60i was cause the upstream decoders (not CineForm) to do the 4:2:0 decoding wrong cause weird chroma artifact, but that is all solved. Simple convert in HDLink / NeoScene will progressive enabled and the results are really good.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2010, 11:04 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
I've had no problem with VG footage by telling HDLink that files are a 30p source.
I'm getting full rez conversions w/ good preview quality, etc.
Final renders to delivery look good too- from web to Blu Ray.
I haven't used 5.2.2.281 yet, but I'm assuming it's the same procedure.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network