Nice new beta for PC v5.2.2.281 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:33 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Nice new beta for PC v5.2.2.281

Several important fixes in this build.

Build 5.2.2.281
Added: Affect Effects CS5 AVI exporter (NeoHD or greater.)
Added: 64-bit DirectShow encoder (NeoHD or greater.)
Enhanced: YUV dyanmic range of clip undergoing FirstLight enhancements. (NeoHD or greater.)
Enhanced: Updated the PDF manual.
Fixed: Black dots that could appear in Vegas (v9 or earlier) clips with extreme highlights.
Fixed: Very old (pre-metadata) CineForm clips could crash older versions of Vegas.
Fixed: XDCAM EX conversions of audio (NeoHD or greater.)

Neo3D http://cineform.com/downloads/Neo3Dv522b281-101103.zip
Neo4K http://cineform.com/downloads/Neo4Kv522b281-101103.zip
NeoHD http://cineform.com/downloads/NeoHDv522b281-101103.zip
NeoScene http://cineform.com/downloads/NeoSce...281-101103.zip

Please report any finding that are peculiar to this build here, otherwise use regular support channels.

Thank you.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 06:40 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Mac betas

Not to leave out Mac users. These builds address different bugs/features then the PC versions, but brings out the same new codec revision v6.7.8

Neo3D -- http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...158-101103.zip
Neo4K -- http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...158-101103.zip
NeoHD -- http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...158-101103.zip
NeoScene -- http://www.cineform.com/downloads/Ne...158-101103.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2010, 10:30 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I just refresh the Mac links (5 minutes ago) as the Panasonic AG-3DA1 support libraries where wrong. Please download again if you are using that camera.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 07:51 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
Hi David,

I updated my Neoscene to the new Beta version 5.2.2 build 281 I then tried to render a clip that was captured with the neoscene and the result was no audio and video.

I did the render with Vegas 8c

Regards
Matthew


.
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 09:42 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
For what it's worth, the same bug from a previous build re-surfaced with this new one, where some of my clips in my timeline show up with lines through it. It's not a media linking issue (although that occured on one or two clips as well actually).

When I rolled back to the previous Cineform build and opened up my project again all media files were read properly in the time-line, as well as a couple clips that needed re-linking no longer needed re-linking.

Just thought I'd add that in case it helped the bug fixin'
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 11:15 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Matthew & Craig,

Sorry, I'm not sure what either of your reports mean.

Matthew,
What are you rendering from or to? My testing to and from CineForm AVIs is working fine in Vegas I didn't test 8C, but uses the same components as Vegas 9 which worked fine. However, I'm checking on an encode issue with 10.0 64-bit.


Craig,
What are this lines to refer to? What NLE are they occurring in?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 12:05 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 8
Problem with interlaced video

I converted an interlaced video with the new beta version and it makes the interlacing worse. I will PM you a link to the file.
Scott Kemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 12:09 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I love to see that file, as I doubt it. We've done a lot to improve interlaced handling, it is better in this version than all previous releases. You didn't say what source was or product used or how you are viewing this interlaced badness. I will need the source and possibly a small sample of the conversion.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 12:09 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
I guess I should've taken a screen cap while I was running that build.
I am using Premiere Pro CS5. All my media footage is the same, 1440x1080 1.33PAR.
It is an older project and media that was converted to CFHD quite some time ago, but still, it seems to work fine by rolling back to previous build.

Essentially the image in my timeline will not display and I only get a black screen. Instead of the thumbnail in the timeline, I just get diagonal lines to represent the image. Which is why it's not a linking problem, it seems to be not reading the file/codec correctly.

I remember experiencing this with that build from a while back that had a few glitches. I think it was in the original build switch to 4.2, but I'm not entirely certain.
If it helps I can install the new one again and take a screen cap, I don't mind.
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 12:32 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Craig, CS5 is working fine, so please try again. If particular footage is not work, please send me (or support) a sample via yousendit.com.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 12:55 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
Hi David,

Here is the steps that I take in Vegas 8c.


Clip: CFHD was captured with cineform

Project Template: HDV 60i ( 1440X1080 )
Render output: AVI
Template: 1080-60i intermediate
Video Formate: Cineform V6.7.8
Cineform Configure: Encoding High HD
Video Format: Auto
Pixel Ratio Auto

The Result is that I get an AVI without any audio or video.

Regards
Matthew
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 01:01 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Anyone else that still has Vegas 8, please try Matthew's test.

Matthew,

I gather you mean the clip is black, as AVI without video or audio is not an AVI file. Can you confirm you got a valid file with black frames and muted audio?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 01:06 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 279
David

I want to report that I just uninstalled and re-installed the Neoscene and everything is working well.

Thanks again
Matthew
__________________
Canon XHA1, Brevis 35mm, Manfrotto 028,501,Vegas Pro 10e
Matthew Amirkhani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 01:16 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
So far we've fixed 64-bit encoding with Vegas 10 -- please redownload to get the *281a-setup.exe installer if you are a Vegas 10 user.

The interlaced conversion is working correctly, however CS5 interpreting the footage as progressive, need to look at that.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2010, 01:50 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
CS5 is fine, it is just displays both fields when is shouldn't, but it renders correctly. It is mostly cosmetic so it will not hold up this build, but should be fixed. I think this has been there for a while, I guess it is a sign that most customers have switched to progressive (thank you, I'm there with you.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network