Insider blog question for Nov 13 entry at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2010, 05:27 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 25
Insider blog question for Nov 13 entry

Hi to David and any other interested parties who would wish to comment,

I just saw your blog entry where you compare native cs5 7d dslr frames vs cineform encoded frames. You state that you utilized NeoHD's HDlink to perform the conversion. I can see the difference, but I am considering a purchase of NeoScene and not NeoHD. So my question is this:

Can I expect the same quality conversion results from NeoScene?
Tara Graves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 05:50 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes. NeoScene and NeoHD/4K/3D share the same conversion pre-processing, so you get the same image quality (minus the upper data rate settings.) Do consider HDLink, not for the conversion, but for FirstLight, which takes the image processing advanages even further.

For others, please read : CineForm Insider: Why use an intermediate for DSLR video?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2010, 06:10 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 25
By "upper data rate settings" do you mean the filmscan1 and filmscan2 settings?

And for the record, can you say what setting you actually used when you performed the conversion? Thanks.

Last edited by Tara Graves; November 19th, 2010 at 11:20 AM.
Tara Graves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2010, 01:50 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 25
Maybe your blog entry has already answered this for me with: "All of this is independent to the amount of compression applied to the CineForm file."

Even so, it would be nice to know what quality setting you actually used in your examples.
Tara Graves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2010, 10:34 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry, I had written a reply to the post, but it is not here. Like the blog states, the compression is not a factor in the quality gains you are seeing. I did use Filmscan 1, although High would look the same.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network