black clips and black dotswith Vegas 9e + Neoscene at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 26th, 2010, 10:19 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
black clips and black dotswith Vegas 9e + Neoscene

I`m working on a long form documentary with half the material (1920X1080 23,97p) being Neoscene (Version 160 B 140) clips and the other Sony MXF 35mb/s clips.
I`ve suffered from theese problems when editing: randomly along the time the Neoscene clips become black (in the explorer and timeline displayed in preview window) and I have to leave Vegas 9e.
When I start Vegas again the clips are there until they (randomly along the time) become black again.
Beside this, some highlight zones in some clips show black dots.
Please help me because I`ve been loosing precious time (and money) with this faults.
Best regards
Ron
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2010, 11:17 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Clips turning black is a Sony Vegas issue, not something that NeoScene can address. Vegas 10 has greatly improved this. To use Vegas 10 you will need to update to NeoScene v5.2. The black dots was also addressed in the latest NeoScene.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 07:06 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Thank you David.
But with all respect you and Cineform deserve, I can not understand (and acept) that Cineform sells a product - Neoscene - advertising it as made to work with Vegas editing software, and the company simply blame Sony to have produced the issue(s).
If Cineform can`t adress the issue with this version, it should allow a free upgrade to its customers; afterall I (and my partner) expect Cineform solves whatever problems exists regarding the product, or present a free solution, because at the time we paid for the product, we had no intention to upgrade, but use the software just for what it was advertised for and run it with no issues when editing.
Regards
Ron
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29th, 2010, 10:49 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We can't offer you an update to Vegas, but if there is a bug in NeoScene that you can present your argument to support (Support Center). However my answer was technically correct, the black clips is not a failure of NeoScene, and NeoScene can only work as well as the NLE it runs in, and it runs in many. Black dots in the highlights I thought was introduced after your build (and then fixed,) but if you are seeing that contact support, because that we can deal with.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network