First light mia. My fult probably at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 18th, 2010, 01:25 AM   #1
Inner Circle
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,299
First light mia. My fult probably


If it can be broken, be assured Bob will probably break it.

I have been playing with CS5 demo and Neo 4K demo with SI2K footage on a proper computer with the certified video card in it.

I find a few things seem to be missing which might be attributable to the software being demo or my own mismanagement. I'm too tech-dumb to distill the difference.

Firstly, I find I cannot create a custom preset for 2048 x 1152 @25 like I could in PP2. The doings of it are just not there to be found where I used to find them.

Secondly. the ability to go to Project then display settings, metadata and enable-disable a SI2K look is gone-gone-gone it seems. Like a fool I double clicked the default look file and it is there for keeps in the image.

When CS5 opens up, the cineform tile with the try-it choice does not pop up like it used to. So I don't know if Cineform is actually there in the background. I assume it is as the SI2K clips play as smooth as chilled custard down the gullet in CS5 and in media player as well.

Thirdly. HDLink no longer allows Sony EX converts to be assigned to a different destination folder. You can tell it to do so but it will bung the converted files back into the CLPR folders regardless, fortunately not overwritten.

CS5 is disabled in demo mode for exports due to licencing requirements of the respective codecs. I thought cineform would be different but the disablement in CS5 seems to be in that a destination folder option does not display, therefore you can't send it anywhere. Maybe that overides the file convert functionaility of HDLink.

The export function itself seems to work but no file to be found anywhere. Maybe that is all that is intended, to show how it works.

Any hints or clues as to whether I am mismanging or not will be greatly appreciated. This computer has a GTX-470 vdieo card in it, wich is apparently what CS5 wants.

I am a bit leery of buying the hardware and software if these glitches are inherent in the system and not just attributable to the demo limitations.

Last edited by Bob Hart; December 18th, 2010 at 01:35 AM. Reason: error
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2010, 06:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ogden UT
Posts: 40
I think you've already figured out the problem. The demo version of CS5 is crippled, so the HD options don't work. The Cineform demo is not, but can't work with a crippled version of CS5.
John Quandt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2010, 07:28 PM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,299

Thanks for that. It otherwise has been a novelty to be able to move clips round, add effects, play them back in realtime instead of step-animating them with the cursor and that is off the C: drive, not a separate drive, so hopefully a correctly set up system will be an even happier affair.
Bob Hart is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network