AF100 -> KiPro -> Avid at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2011, 08:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 55
AF100 -> KiPro -> Avid

Okay so I just wrapped production on what I think is the first narrative short shot with the AF100.

We recorded over HD-SDI to the AJA Ki-Pro at 23.98. No overcrank or anything like that, just basic 1920x1080 23.98 ProRes files. It was at the highest ProRes setting the Ki-Pro has.

What settings would I use to go to Cineform? What would I gain?

The guy who set it all up wants to stay in Media Composer. Is cineform/firstlight 10/12-bit all that supported in Media Composer? Is it VFW or DirectShow or SDK? Basically, if I'm finishing in Media Composer, should I use ProRes or Cineform and why? If I had to convert to ProRes, then it would be a no-brainer, but since it was recorded in ProRes should I just edit this first-generation?

Thank you again so much.
Ben Hickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 08:58 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 167
If you've recorded in ProRes, I see no reason to transcode to Cineform after the fact. And I believe Avid MC5 will be able to link to and work with the files as recorded using "Link to AMA Files."

Oh, and here's the trailer for the first narrative short shot with the AF-100…


Cheers!
Stephen Mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 09:13 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
If you are finishing in Media Composer, you do have an issue, as I believe MC filters are 8-bit only. 8-bit is fine for off-line work, which MC excels. This 8-bit filtering would impact both CineForm or ProRES imports, however it impacts ProRES more greatly, as you only get to color correct in MC (8-bit CC is not good.) With the CineForm file you get the 10/12-bit advantages of color correcting in FirstLight -- while the MC render will only use the top 8-bits, they are the best 8-bit at that point as CC is already done.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2011, 10:44 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Mick View Post
If you've recorded in ProRes, I see no reason to transcode to Cineform after the fact. And I believe Avid MC5 will be able to link to and work with the files as recorded using "Link to AMA Files."

Oh, and here's the trailer for the first narrative short shot with the AF-100
"A Verse Before Dying" on Vimeo


Cheers!
Where can I watch the film? I see this trailer everywhere, but not the video.
Ben Hickson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network