Is it possible to change the frame rate of cineform QTs - cinematools doesn't work at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2011, 05:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
Is it possible to change the frame rate of cineform QTs - cinematools doesn't work

Hi all,

I've done a search and found a few things that talk about this but couldn't get any of the solutions to work for me.

My issue is that I have a multi-frame rate project that is shot at 23.98 and 29.97 (frame for frame without pulldown). I want to work @ 23.98 as my base so want to slow all the 29.97 footage to 23.98.

The issue is that the 29.97 footage was shot on a camera (not 100% on model) that uses AVC and I can't use cinematools to change it's frame rate to 23.98 (conform button is greyed out, QTChange doesn't seem to work either).

At the moment, the only solution I can think of is to convert the footage to prores, conform it to 23.98 and then convert to cineform. Something I'd prefer not to do.

Hope that explains it all clearly. So does anyone know if there is a way to change the frame rate of the cineform based QTs?

Thanks in advance
Justin Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2011, 06:26 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Tran View Post
Hi all,

I've done a search and found a few things that talk about this but couldn't get any of the solutions to work for me.

My issue is that I have a multi-frame rate project that is shot at 23.98 and 29.97 (frame for frame without pulldown). I want to work @ 23.98 as my base so want to slow all the 29.97 footage to 23.98.

The issue is that the 29.97 footage was shot on a camera (not 100% on model) that uses AVC and I can't use cinematools to change it's frame rate to 23.98 (conform button is greyed out, QTChange doesn't seem to work either).

At the moment, the only solution I can think of is to convert the footage to prores, conform it to 23.98 and then convert to cineform. Something I'd prefer not to do.

Hope that explains it all clearly. So does anyone know if there is a way to change the frame rate of the cineform based QTs?

Thanks in advance

Hi Justin,

Both ReMaster and HDLink will allow you to change the framerate of a Cineform file. On the mac side launch ReMaster, choose your 29.97 content from the browser, choose CF Rewrap from the "Output Format" drop down in the Output tab. Then go to the Processing Tab and select "Frame Rate change 23.98"... This will give you a new file at 23.98.

In HDLink select your files to change and click Prefs. In that menu choose... oh wait I am just going through this now myself and I don't see an option 29.97 to 23.98... hope your using the Mac Version...

***edit ***
There is a 30 to 24 option in HDLink... maybe try that if you are on a PC.

John
John Reeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2011, 10:45 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 31
Re: Is it possible to change the frame rate of cineform QTs - cinematools doesn't wor

Thanks John,

I was hoping to avoid the additional rewrapping process - I'll give it a go anyhow, might be faster than using prores as an intermediate format.
Justin Tran is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network