Proper way to export from Ppro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2011, 12:42 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Proper way to export from Ppro?

Do you select Quicktime as the format, and then Cineform as the codec, or do you select Cineform MOV file as the format? What's the difference, if any?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 12:49 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Proper way to export from Ppro?

One using the QuickTime API, the other avoids it. You want to using CineForm MOV, as that support deep pixels, 3D and likely works much better.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Re: Proper way to export from Ppro?

Great thanks. One other question...what's the advantage of using the Cineform 32-bit levels adjustment, vs. the levels filter that comes with Ppro?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 01:24 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Proper way to export from Ppro?

Best is the FirstLight controls. This give the the maximum precision and the most speed, no matter what other filters are used on the clip. We added CineForm 32-bit (float) levels as the Premeire filter is only 8-bit (huh?) To get float levels with PPro (without using CF filters) you need to use the Fast Color Corrector (which is slower than our levels.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2011, 11:55 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Re: Proper way to export from Ppro?

Just a follow-up...I'm used to having Black level and White level controls, but I don't see the equivalent in FirstLight. What do we use for black and white levels adjustment?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2011, 12:07 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Proper way to export from Ppro?

Lift and Gain? Having a vsRGB vs cgRGB setting is likely a good idea for the future.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network