Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2011, 01:32 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

David, This question is probably a little early but do you guys plan on supporting the Blackmagic Design: HyperDeck Shuttle

thanks in advance for your reply...
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 02:18 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,772
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

I to am very interested in the answer to this question.

Thanks,
Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 05:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 80
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

how would an uncompressed .mov file compare in size to an avchd file transcoded to cineform?
Ed Kishel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2011, 08:00 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,772
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Kishel View Post
how would an uncompressed .mov file compare in size to an avchd file transcoded to cineform?
I would imagine the file sizes should be roughly the same size as long as you have the quality setting for both CinieForm AVI files set the same. I could be wrong but from my XDCAM HD MXF files converted to CineForm Files and AVCHD files shot of the same scenes they are roughly the same size.

-Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 03:26 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 87
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

Once it's in Cineform it should be more or less the same size wherever it comes from, but if you mean the difference between uncompressed HD (as captured by Blackmagic) and Cineform compression, as a rule of thumb I've found uncompressed 1920x1080 at 25p comes out between 8GB and 10GB per minute. Cineform files are around 1GB per minute.
Ian
Ian Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2011, 06:30 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 80
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

that means with a 128gb ssd installed I would have about 16 minutes of recording time. Yikes. Could you even edit one single 128 GB file in realtime? I don't exactly have a Pixar grade PC.
Ed Kishel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2011, 03:37 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Farnham, UK
Posts: 87
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

Oddly enough, it's not so much the editing, as the disk speed. Since the video is uncompressed, no processor cycles are used up in uncompressing and recompressing. I've edited uncompressed HD on quite a modest PC.

But you need a constant disk read/write data rate of 160Mb/s and more to shovel the data off the disk to the screen. Until SSDs, no single disk solution could offer that. It had to be a multi-disk RAID. Blackmagic's gadget is a little ahead of its time, but when SSDs become cheaper and larger it becomes more interesting. Except of course, as the Davids will say, compression techniques like CIneform's are improving all the time, and you can argue about what benefit uncompressed HD really is in the real world...

(After all, all tape formats, including the venerable Digital Betacam and HDCAM are compressed to a greater or lesser extent, and nobody bothers much about that because there was/is no alternative.)

In which case you could say that Blackmagic's widget is an attempt to stay in a game which is passing them by...

Ian
Ian Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2011, 08:38 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Re: Cineform to support Blackmagic HyperDeck?

If a codec is installed on your system - Cineform can encode from it as far as I know.
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network