First Light Changes not showing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:27 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
First Light Changes not showing

I'm using Vegas Pro 9 with NeoHD and First Light. I make adjustments in First Light and can see them on my monitor when viewing in Vegas. Then I go to render and the changes aren't made. When rendering it give a No Recompression Required not on my screen.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,
Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:28 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: First Light Changes not showing

You must recompress if use FirstLight changes when rendering within Vegas.

P.S. You should upgrade you NeoHD to Neo 5.5.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:39 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
Re: First Light Changes not showing

Thanks David, I already did upgrade. I still think of it as NeoHD. How do I force a recompress in Vegas? When I encoded the files I used the I-Frame only for smart rendering in Vegas. Now I can't figure out how to make the file recompress.

-Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 12:55 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: First Light Changes not showing

"Options" menu -> Preferences in the General tab uncheck "Enable no-recompression long-GOP rendering"
that should fix it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 01:05 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
Re: First Light Changes not showing

I tried that. It still was not recompressing. Could it be because I had clicked I-Frame only when converting to CF avi's?

-Garrett
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 01:22 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: First Light Changes not showing

Question for Sony I guess, as that used to work (or something like it.)

Or

simply place a NOP filter on the video output, use the "Reset to None" convolution kernel.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 01:47 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Novato, CA
Posts: 1,771
Re: First Light Changes not showing

Thanks David.
__________________
Garrett Low
www.GLowMediaProductions.com
Garrett Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 01:50 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: First Light Changes not showing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett Low View Post
I tried that. It still was not recompressing. Could it be because I had clicked I-Frame only when converting to CF avi's?

-Garrett
Same issue for me with Vegas. I have had to add a filter to get it to recompress. (Note: This is in Pro 10)
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos

Last edited by Chris Barcellos; May 20th, 2011 at 01:58 PM. Reason: add note
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2011, 10:35 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Re: First Light Changes not showing

Interesting new development. I completed edit of a film I had shot with my Canon 5D Mark II. I had shot it with the Cinestyle picture style. I converted the footage to Cineform using Neo 5.5. In FirstLight, I added the new Cinestyle treatment. I then edited the footage and finalized my film project in Vegas 10d. I rendered final version to a new .avi using the Cineform codec.

I then opened that rendered file in FirstLight, to see if I could add a different color treatment. While Firstlight saw the file, any changes I tried to make would not take.

I then took that file into HDLink, and converted it to another Cineform .avi. After rendering, I took that file into FirstLight, and I was able to subject it to all the adjustments available in First Light.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2011, 11:58 AM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: First Light Changes not showing

You should be able use FirstLight on Vegas CineForm exports, I just retested here and it works fine. Send the offending clip to support@cineform.com. If it is too large, use VirtualDub to do a direct stream copy of 1 seconds worth (confirm it still fails) and send that.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network