5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 8th, 2011, 10:58 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

I'm usually using a workflow which takes a 5D Mk2 MOV file and uses Cineform to convert to an AVI. I then edit and either render to BluRay or render to a MP4 file for upload to Vimeo or YouTube. Considering entering a 48HR and they require a "self contained Quicktime file".
Is there a render from Vegas Pro to this? and what properties are common? Leave at 1920x1080 30p or does it need to be converted to another format?
I'm using Pro 10.0d on Windows 7 box.
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 11:14 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

I'm very experienced with the 48 Hour Film Project, entered it eight times, and done the HD projection for San Diego for the last for years. Those submission requirements are to preventing you making a reference movie (where the real media is left on you hard drive.) All quicktime exports from Vegas will be self contained. You should contact the local 48Hr producer as submission requirement can be different for cities projecting in HD. In San Diego we distinctly prefer not to have a DVD or a Quicktime file "with no proprietary codecs" so we want it to look good, therefor CineForm files or ProRES in a pinch.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 12:26 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

David,

That is their requirement - so would Cineform transform for editing sake and then render back out to a MOV be legal? Is Cineform transfer if later rendered considered a proprietory codec??
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 12:46 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

As I point out their requirement might be wrong for your city. All they typically want is SD DV, yuck! It doesn't matter what you edit with, as long as they can playback the result (why you should check.) If you submit a DV encoded self contained MOV, yet they are projecting HD, you will be kicking yourself.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 02:24 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

I've checked and this is it for the Nashville 48hr:

(preferred) a self-contained Quicktime file with no proprietary codecs on either:
- a data DVD, or
- a USB flash drive
-or-
miniDV
-or-
playable DVD

miniDV and playable (SD as you point out) DVD are out

So I'll probably try to opt for the
(preferred) a self-contained Quicktime file with no proprietary codecs on either:
- a data DVD
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom

Last edited by Harry Simpson; June 8th, 2011 at 02:25 PM. Reason: clarify
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 04:43 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

That what the web-site says, it is boiler-plate, you need to check if your producer is HD capable -- unfortunately not many cities are. In San Diego we give completely different instruction to was the web says to do.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 08:40 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: 5D Mk2 Render to Self Contained Quicktime

Now i'm understanding...email sent.....no response yet.
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network