No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2011, 11:16 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

I converted 16 hours worth of AVCHD from Panasonic GH2 footage to find this morning there is no audio included with new clips. Not a pleasant surprise.

I'm using the trial version of NeoScene, as I reformatted hard drive and reinstalled windows forgetting to deactivate previous version, am awaiting assistance with that issue. But still, NeoScene trial is fully functional, right?

I've converted many of the same type of files from same cameras shot at same 720p settings, and previous version of NeoScene worked like a charm.

Any thoughts? I see someone else had no audio with their RED files as well earlier today.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2011, 11:44 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

Just uninstalled older version and reinstalled newer 5.5.4332 and same issue. I have 12 large projects waiting to be done, so someone, anyone please chime in.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2011, 12:11 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

You need to install an AC3 codec for that camera. When you installed NeoScene is should have warned you. You need to download http://ac3filter.googlecode.com/file...lter_1_63b.exe
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2011, 01:59 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

Thanks David, the AC3 codec is installed, and during the installation I can see it said that it was present.

I uninstaled NeoScene a few minutes ago, and installed Neo as I should have to begin with, and now I get a buzzing type noise, it's a nasty sounding thing, and none of the original audio. I'll try uninstalling the codec and see if I reinstall it if that helps.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2011, 02:04 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

David, installed the codec you linked to, everything's perfect now, thanks a lot for your quick help! I did install before, but something I did was not right, obviously.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2011, 02:05 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

Likely you AC3 filter settings have been changed by another tool (we don't mess with it.) It does have a configuration panel if an uninstall/reinstall doesn't work.

P.S. Glad to see you running again.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2012, 01:11 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 212
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

can this be installed onto a mac for remaster?

having the same issue... no audio on gh footage from a transcode on remaster on a mac.

thanks!
__________________
Justin Lovell
cinematographer//8mm.16mm>HD.transfers . www.framediscreet.com
Justin Lovell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2012, 01:28 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 212
Re: No Audio with CF files using NeoScene 5.5.2 trial

found a solution - install this software.

Download Perian - AC3/AVI support in Mac OS X - Codec Packs - MovieCodec.com
__________________
Justin Lovell
cinematographer//8mm.16mm>HD.transfers . www.framediscreet.com
Justin Lovell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network