Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2011, 10:58 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 19
Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

I bought Neo Scene for use with Sony Vegas Pro 9, and the two products worked well together. Things seemed less seemless with the upgrade to Sony Vegas 10, and now I'm getting ready to move to Sony Vegas 11.

Are there any plans to update Neo Scene?
Jason Goldberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2011, 07:37 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Cineform and Vegas 11 64bit have been a horror story for me so far
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2011, 07:17 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

I'm running NEO and Vegas-64 v11 with no problems.
John Cline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 07:33 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Mr. Cline, as he has pointed out in another forum, seems to live a charmed life when it comes to Vegas.
I,on the other hand, have Cineform files blackout at certain time during renders and get only about a 20% success rate when rendering to CF from inside vegas.(without black frames)
This does happen with other source material, but not often.
Since my CF material works flawlessly in Lightworks I think that most of the blame falls on Sony, I do hope that the new (just weeks away according to an email I got) CF software will play nicer with Sony. I love Firstlight and the ability to add slo-mo to original clips.
As it is now I have to rerender the CF files in Virtual Dub after adding the Firstlight correction to get a 'safe' intermediate.
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2011, 06:13 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

As "This does happen with other source material, ..." there is nothing we can do. We have no insight into this internal Vegas error, and we are not making any changes to address this. So please work with Sony to find a solution.

However, if there is anything we can do to address this, we will -- so Sony if you find anything we can do, let us know.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2011, 06:43 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Hoboken, NJ
Posts: 11
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Feldman View Post
Mr. Cline, as he has pointed out in another forum, seems to live a charmed life when it comes to Vegas.
I,on the other hand, have Cineform files blackout at certain time during renders and get only about a 20% success rate when rendering to CF from inside vegas.(without black frames)
This does happen with other source material, but not often.
Since my CF material works flawlessly in Lightworks I think that most of the blame falls on Sony, I do hope that the new (just weeks away according to an email I got) CF software will play nicer with Sony. I love Firstlight and the ability to add slo-mo to original clips.
As it is now I have to rerender the CF files in Virtual Dub after adding the Firstlight correction to get a 'safe' intermediate.
I'm having the same problem. Random clips in my video are blacked out in the final render. The audio plays, but the video is black. I even try using Vegas 10 instead of Vegas 11. Same problem.

It's all 1080p 30fps Cineform avi footage shot on a HMC-150.
Brad Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2011, 06:27 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newbern, TN
Posts: 414
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Happens to me too in pro10. I figured out it only happened after I had be working in the project for a while and then went straight to render the mpeg. Now I make sure I close the project and then re-open to render, not the way it should be, but it works.
__________________
Tim
Tim Akin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2011, 09:16 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 347
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Same problem here with clips randomly going black during renders.
Marc Salvatore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 06:03 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sarasota,Florida
Posts: 36
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

I have the same problem also. I also have this problem with After Effects. I recently converted to Win 7 64 bit. 12gig ram. I've never had the random black frame problem before with either Vegas or AE, it seemed to happen since I started using the cineform codec from GoPro.I have been working on this problem for a week now (that's how I ended up here from google) believe me, we're not the only ones with this problem.
Steve Boutin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 1st, 2012, 09:39 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

The Vegas issue is outside of the CineForm codec, this has been confirmed mulitple times. In Vegas one theory is the black frames are due to a bug in the frame cache, as if I set the frame video cache sizes to 0MB, no more black frames (in playback, not sure about renders -- worth a try.)

Steve, The only thing different about your statement is AE, are have no reports of this or random black frames in AE -- this has to be unrelated as Vegas does it all on its own with other codecs. If you can confirm an AE issue, you need to contact support@cineform.com so they can investigate.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2012, 10:45 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Keuruu, Finland
Posts: 67
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Thank you David!
I changed Dynamic RAM Preview max (MB): 0 and tested a project that caused earlier black frames but no more.
Testing more and hoping the best...
Hannu Korpinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2012, 07:17 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Please keep us posted with your results
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2012, 10:37 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Coast Australia
Posts: 1,008
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

If thats true, about Dynamic ram to 0, fixing this, THAT IS MASSIVE.
I had just about given up on Cineform (which was killing me, I love First Light).
I just havent got the time to go through 3 hrs of footage with match sticks holding my eyes open to check for random black frames. It would be better if the render failed than have a few black frames in there.
__________________
http://vimeo.com/livewebvideo
Gerald Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2012, 04:04 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

Seemed to help but got one black frame issue, save>shut down>reopen>it worked.
I loved first light but this is painful, going to 5dtoRGB
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2012, 04:45 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Neo Scene with Sony Vegas Pro 11

No need to switch, we've been working with Sony and believe we have fixed it. Beta testing now. Public beta in a few days.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network