Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2012, 10:38 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 10
Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

I have GoPro Cineform Studio Premium and a Hero2. To install firmware updates on the camera directs you to download the base GoPro Cineform Studio, which detects the camera and installs updates. Studio Premium does not seem to do this (I know there is an update out for my camera). Is this wrong or do you need to run both versions? If so I think it would be a useful update to Studio Premium.

Ben
Ben Turley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 11:14 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

We have betas that fix this. I was going to post these Friday.

Premium http://software.gopro.com/beta/GoPro....100-Setup.exe
Professional http://software.gopro.com/beta/GoPro....100-Setup.exe
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 01:25 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Re: Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

David, I recently purchased a Hero2. The firmware support page mentioned I need to GoPro CineForm Studio. I owned Cineform Studio Premium. Are they different software?
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 06:36 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

Yes, the software is different. Use the above beta version to do Hero2 firmware updates from Studio Premium or Studio Professional.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 06:45 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Re: Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

Too late! I installed the GoPro Studio. It overwrote my current GoPro Cineform Studio Premium install. Then I installed the beta version from the link you provided. Now I don't know which version I am using. There isn't a Help->About I can check what version I'm using. I right click on the shortcut properties. this is the file

C:\Program Files (x86)\GoPro\Tools\GoPro CineForm Studio.exe

I am able to update the firmware just now. Am I now using the beta version of Studio Premium?
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2012, 07:19 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Cineform Studio Premium and GoPro Firmware

Nothing has change in this regard, always uninstall a CineForm tool before installing different type as they share components. To undo what you have done, uninstall Premium (if that was the last thing you installed), install free Studio, then immediately uninstall it (now you system is cleaned up.) Now install what every you have a license for, and stick with that product going forware. If you going from 1.1 to 1.x of the same product, uninstalls are not needed, the above is only when you are mixing products.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network