Flagging Problem: New format at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2012, 06:13 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Flagging Problem: New format

I submitted a trouble ticket on this but Im hopeful the community here might have a solution...If support helps I'll share:
Very recently(new firmware) the Panasonic GH2 is capable of shooting 1080 at 30p. This is the perfect format to meet my local broadcast specs. Unfortunately Panasonic has wrapped this in a interlaced wrapper. After running the file thru HD link and selecting progressive or thru GPCS it renders correctly and MediaInfo shows it as Progressive but pulling it into a NLE it shows interlaced (upper field first) this occurs both in Lightworks and Sony Vegas. I realize that you arn't going to do a whole release for my particular file but is there a script or plug in that will make the flag read progressive. In Vegas I can change the properties but I have to remember to do that with every clip, Lightworks does not give me that opttion. I'm a long time and very dedicated user of your products and look forword to your suggestions.
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2012, 07:35 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: italy
Posts: 105
Re: Flagging Problem: New format

i use pal version of gh2, that wrap 25p in a 50i format, but when i convert in cineform i have a 25p avi.
Are you sure that you have select 30p format and not some 1080i format that add pulldown 3:2?
Carlo Macchiavello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 01:52 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 323
Re: Flagging Problem: New format

In Vegas, load one of your clips to the timeline or the add it to the Project Media bin, right click on the clip and go to "Properties", then the "Media Tab", make the change under Field Order from "Interlaced" to "Progressive", then click on the little disk icon to the right of where it says "Stream: Video 1." This will tell Vegas that from now on every time it sees a file using this video codec with these image dimensions and frame rate to auto-detect it as progressive and not interlaced. You will no longer have to change every clip in Vegas, however, this doesn't solve your Lightworks problem. (There may not really be a problem, progressive video, whether in a 60i file or a 30p file are for all practical purposes the same thing.)
John Cline is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network