RedCine-x at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 30th, 2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 57
RedCine-x

Hi Guys I am trying to nail down a workflow for an upcoming epic shoot. The client would like 2048x1080 cinform AVI's made from our 5K 5120x2700 r3d's.

I am grading live on the RAW SDI and saving LUT's as .cube files to import into firstlight later. So my plan was to export this from REDCine-X Pro build 14 PC:

REDcolor3
REDlogFilm
MOV, GoPro Cineform @ 2048x1080

On the Mac running REDCine-X Pro this gives me a nice RAW looking MOV.

On the PC however REDCine-X Pro with the same settings gives me a picture with an ugly green overlay. What am I doing wrong here on the PC?

The command line tools on the PC produce clean images but they are not RAW so my LUT's dont work.
John Reeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2012, 02:24 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 57
Re: RedCine-x

Export using the option "RGB export 444" seams to have fixed it...

Edit* now i have a clean picture (no green overlay) but im not sure how to set my encode / decode curves to properly represent the REDlogFilm footage. Any suggestions?
John Reeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2012, 06:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 57
Re: RedCine-x

I've found that LogC in and LogC out is consistent with what I see in REDcine-X so for now those are the settings I am using.
John Reeve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2012, 06:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Southern Cal-ee-for-Ni-ya
Posts: 608
Re: RedCine-x

You are probably only getting 8 bit deep files.
Les Dit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2012, 01:20 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 91
Re: RedCine-x

you can command line red raw to cineform raw...much smaller filesize

also cineform will not respect red color space metadata...i.e the result will not look the same...so color correcting on the SDI will look different from the cineform file....

if your client wants finished cineform files then I would convert R3d to cineform and CC those cineform files....

or go r3d to tiff/exr ect then go to cineform from those

also a file does not need to be raw to have a LUT applied does it?
Mike Harrington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network