Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 29th, 2012, 01:53 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 1,979
NeoHD HDLink Conversion Stopped

David, I have to convert a bunch of hour long HDV footage to Cineform AVI. Using HDLink works randomly. Something the conversion just stopped half way. Now I'm trying to convert using Adobe Media Encoder to export to Cineform AVI. My question is, will the output quality the same exporting this way?
__________________
Comer LED Camera Lights . Batteries . Chargers . Accessories
LA Color Pros
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 02:06 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 1,979
Re: NeoHD HDLink Conversion Stopped

In AME, there are settings like

Encoding Format
- YUV 4:2:2
- RGB 4:4:4
- RGBA 4:4:4:4

The default is YUV 4:2:2. Should I just go with that?

Do I also leave the pixel aspect ratio the same as 1440x1080?

Thanks
__________________
Comer LED Camera Lights . Batteries . Chargers . Accessories
LA Color Pros
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 02:16 PM   #3
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,074
Re: NeoHD HDLink Conversion Stopped

I expect the AME quality is fine, not sure if it upconverts 4:2:0 nicely. 4:2:2 is plenty for the encoder.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 02:37 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 1,979
Re: NeoHD HDLink Conversion Stopped

I converted the same file. In HDLink export is 20GB. AME export is 17GB.

I need to edit these old HDV footage. But using HDLink to convert these long file, HDLink stopped in the middle.

Oh I also notice, HDLink will convert the 1440x1080 footage to 1920x1080 while AME maintain the 1440 frame size. Would that be the difference in file size? What's your thought?

Thanks
__________________
Comer LED Camera Lights . Batteries . Chargers . Accessories
LA Color Pros
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 02:43 PM   #5
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,074
Re: NeoHD HDLink Conversion Stopped

Converting to 1920 is an option in HDLink, but it does explain the size difference.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network