Sudden expiration at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 4th, 2005, 08:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Sudden expiration

Hello,
Several weeks before I've installed Cineform v 3.2 codec (CFHD.dll+ini) on computers on my After Effects render node. Some of them has previously installed evaluation or fullversions for test purposes but i've deactivated them and unistalled them competely. Everything was ok but now some of those computers shows this error message: "Thank you for evaluating this software. Your evaluation period is over. Please visit http://www.cineform.com to purchase the software." just after windows boots or when starting After Effects. Message appears repeatedly and I cannot use those machines in render node.
There is no trail of Cineform in "Remove Programs" control panel nor in Program Files folder. I've tried to reinstall just 3.2 codec with no success.
Is there any chance to get it working without reinstalling whole system? It'll be very time consuming.
Thanks for help
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 10:13 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The VfW codec file is installed (by Windows) into C:/WINDOWS/system32/cfhd.dll -- simple delete that file and you should be fine. You might also have the CFHD importer/exporter component (CFHDIO.aex) within AE, that is located without the AE Plugins directories -- that can also be manually deleted. If you used a standard installer for Connect HD or Aspect HD these component are removed by an normal un-install. For manual installs like yours, that requires a manual un-install.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 12:30 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Thank you, David.
Yes, it works, when I delete a CFHD files no error message apears anymore. But I'd like to use Cineform codec for Network rendering and when I install CFHD codec (copy and install CFHD.dll + ini files from main workstation with license) then the message reapear again.
There is probably something hidden in system...
Is it solvable without complete reinstall?
Regards
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Do you encode at each of your render nodes or only decoding? Are we only talking about After Effects, or are you using other tools on you render farm?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 03:10 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Just decoding. And After Effects only.
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 03:40 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I haven't done any render farm setups with expired components -- only encoding is suppost to expire. Licensing changed with Aspect HD 3.3 a little so you should try that. If the probelm occurs with 3.3 we will look into it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 03:50 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
So you suggest to uprgrade to 3.3 and then try to install CFHD codec from 3.3 version to render computers? Is it necessary to unregistered the license when upgrading?
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 04:21 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
No, just install the new version.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 05:05 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Ok, done, unfortunately without success. Computer still shows the message just when I start After Effects.
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2005, 07:11 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We have now comfirmed that here, and we are looking for a solution.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2005, 05:12 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 42
Hello David,

is there any chance to solve this?

regards
__________________
Jaromir Pesr
i/o post
Jaromir Pesr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2005, 05:35 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes. We are looking to make a small change in the next release of Aspect HD. If we work out a solution before then I will get you that change. However, the CFHD codec that ships with Vegas 6.0 may have the licensing you need (decode only outside of Vegas.) If you need that version email me tomorrow (to remind me to send you a copy.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network