HDLink won't convert Canon MOVs in Windows 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2015, 11:07 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
HDLink won't convert Canon MOVs in Windows 8

I recently moved from Windows 7 to 8, and now neither HDLink nor GoPro Studio Premium will convert MOV files from a Canon 7D to Cineform. MXF files from a XF300 convert wthout a problem. GoPro's help files mention this Windows 8 limitation, but don't say anything more about it.

My workflow up to now has been to use HDLink to convert all my original files to Cineform for editing. I know I can use Adobe Media Encoder to convert the 7D files, but I like to use First Light, which I understand needs the GoPro converted files.

Why the limitation to Windows 8? Is there a workaround?
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2016, 05:09 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Re: HDLink won't convert Canon MOVs in Windows 8

I am on win 10, I seem to be able to convert things fine, have not tried canon mov. If you can upload a short clip I can see what happens, just like a 30 second clip of whatever. black footage if you want.
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2016, 03:24 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
Re: HDLink won't convert Canon MOVs in Windows 8

I just changed to Windows 10, and can report that HD Link converts MP4 (the largest format) files from a Canon 7Dmk2 just fine. It also converts MXF files from a XF300.

First Light appears to work OK as well with these converted files, but any other Cineform files, i.e. those created using Adobe Media Encoder, will make First Light crash.

Unfortunately GoPro doesn't really support First Light any longer, and HD Link is rather slow, so I'm not sure if it will figure in my workflow any longer.
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2016, 09:46 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Re: HDLink won't convert Canon MOVs in Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Engeler View Post
Unfortunately GoPro doesn't really support First Light any longer, and HD Link is rather slow, so I'm not sure if it will figure in my workflow any longer.
Considering that most NLEs handle native Canon DSLR footage quite well now, I'm curious why you feel the need to transcode everything?
Gary Huff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network