GoPro Studio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 3rd, 2016, 12:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
GoPro Studio

What happened to GoPro Studio, has this now turned into Gopro App? Or am I missing something?
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2016, 02:12 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: GoPro Studio

GoPro App includes GoPro Studio, both icons are presented on the desktop, and the new media browser can launch Studio.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2017, 06:33 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Aldershot UK
Posts: 41
Re: GoPro Studio

It seems the app is now called quik and only supports windows 10. I could not find the download for studio for windows 7 as the links kept returning to the quik download page.

Please could you also provide a package to download the codecs alone.

Regards Trevor Harris
Trevor Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2017, 09:08 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Aldershot UK
Posts: 41
Re: GoPro Studio

I found this on gopro site:

https://gopro.com/help/articles/Ques...nd-of-Life-FAQ

In other words Gopro Studio is dead. It also means it is no longer possible to install uptodate codecs on Windows 7. I found some other sites do provide downloads. The latest version I found is 2.5.9.2658. I think there is a 2.5.10 but I have only found a mac version.

It would be realy usefull if Gopro would package the codecs for windows 7.

Gopro is making it more and more difficult to use cineform.

The only good news is that the latest Studios are compatable with Studio Premium which means newer codes can be used.
Trevor Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2017, 08:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 901
Re: GoPro Studio

The version of GoPro that had the least amount of useless bloat with it that works well on Win 7 64 I found was v2.5.7.549. I did have later versions but found they offered no advantage over this version. If you are interested in this version PM me and I can upload it for you. With it I can encode to Cineform via Adobe Encoder, Vegas Pro and Resolve with no issues. It's a shame that GpPro got their hands on Cineform. They really screwed the pooch on that one.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2017, 05:07 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Aldershot UK
Posts: 41
Re: GoPro Studio

Thankyou for the offer but I do have that version too. There is an update history at

https://gopro.com/help/articles/Bloc...istory-Windows

In particular 2.5.9 removes the dependency on Quicktime and other fixes. Apple no longer supports quicktime so this might become important.

Regards Trevor
Trevor Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2017, 12:35 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 901
Re: GoPro Studio

Touch wood no problems here as most of the programs I use now have native support for .MOV and ProRes in true 64-bit.

I was running v259 but ditched it and went back to V257 for the bloat reasons I mentioned. The no dependency on QuickTime is not a major issue for me.

Apple's QuickTime on Windows was only ever a 32-bit application that made it a bit of a crippled codec when trying to use it in 64 bit apps with 64 bit plugins.

Vegas on Windows now decodes and encodes ProRes in all flavors in 64 bit without any reliance on QuickTime. I believe Adobe CC 2017 can now do the same or will do shortly. DaVinci Resolve was amongst the first to dump QuickTime when they wrote their own native support for QT files and I've had no issues with it here. I guess I would rather rely on the various apps using their own native specifically written QT code to handle QT based files.

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network